National Park Service

Almost all of the 61 National Park Service areas with significant water holdings are of some interest to divers, although scuba diving receives little publicity. This guide is intended to introduce the more than four million divers in the US and others interested in watersports, to a dimension of their parks they may have overlooked.


Find a Park to Dive

San Juan Island Olympic Glacier Redwoods Point Reyes Channel Islands Big Horn Canyon Yellowstone Grand Teton Curecanti Glen Canyon Lake Mead Amistad Isle Royale Pictured Rocks Apostle Island Ozark and Buffalo Rivers Sleeping Bear Dunes Acadia Cape Cod Fire Island Gateway Cape Hatteras Cape Lookout Gulf Islands Biscayne Dry Tortugas Glacier Bay Kenai FJords Kaloko-Honokohau Pu'uhonua o Honaunau War in the Pacific America Samoa Virgin Islands Buck Island


The activities described here are inherently hazardous and should only be engaged in by physically fit and experienced divers. All risks of injury are assumed by individual participants, who are responsible for taking appropriate safety precautions, and using appropriate equipment when diving.

Last Updated: February 17, 2016