Find a Park

Map of the Lower Mississippi Delta Region
Map depicting the Lower Mississippi Delta Region.


In 1994, Congress established the National Park Service’s Lower Mississippi Delta Initiative Program. For the purposes of the program, Congress established a boundary. This boundary includes 219 counties across the states of Arkansas, Illinois, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, and Tennessee. This is the Lower Mississippi Delta Region. National park system units within and associated with the region are below.

About the Map

The Region, depicted in orange outline on the map at right, covers the southern parts of Missouri and Illinois, Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, and the western parts of Kentucky and Tennessee. The Mississippi River, depicted in dark blue, runs through the center of the region from north on the Illinois/Iowa border south into the Gulf of Mexico. National park system units are shown in brown squares. Natchez Trace Parkway, denoted in a brown line, runs from central Tennessee southwest to a point near the border of Mississippi and Louisiana. Gulf Islands National Seashore is denoted in brown and is located on the coast of Mississippi the eastern part of Florida. Find additional alternative text describing this map below.

National Heritage Areas

These National Heritage Areas are contained within the Lower Mississippi Delta Region. Follow the link for an interactive map and more info on National Heritage Areas.


Atchafalaya National Heritage Area
Cane River National Heritage Area


Mississippi Delta National Heritage Area
Mississippi Gulf Coast National Heritage Area
Mississippi Hills National Heritage Area


Tennessee Civil War National Heritage Area

Last updated: February 4, 2022