Keweenaw National Historical Park was established to preserve and interpret the story of the rise, domination, and decline of the region’s copper mining industry. Unlike many parks, however, the U.S. Congress legislated that the National Park Service and the park's advisory commission partner with sites owned and operated by state and local governments, private businesses, and nonprofit organizations to achieve this goal. The Keweenaw Heritage Sites program, administered by the Keweenaw National Historical Park Advisory Commission, is one aspect of this partnership.
Keweenaw Heritage Sites contain significant cultural and/or natural resources, and make a unique contribution to the copper mining story. Embodying stories of hardship, ingenuity, struggle and success, each site allows you to explore the role mining played in people’s lives here and afar.
Visiting the Keweenaw Heritage Sites
Visiting the Keweenaw Heritage Sites The Keweenaw Heritage Sites operate independently of the National Park Service. Sites stretch along the length of the Keweenaw Peninsula, from Copper Harbor to south of Ontonagon. Hours of operation and admission fees (if applicable) vary from site to site and may change seasonally. Visit a site's website below for more detailed information about each site.
This site offers a variety of guided tours of a historic mine that operated from 1850 to 1920. Tours range from 45-minute walks to a 3-hour excursion plus a new 6-hour tour requiring advance reservations.
Visit the Mineral Museum of Michigan. Explore mineral collections from the Keweenaw Copper District, the Lake Superior Iron District, throughout Michigan and beyond.
Opened in 1900, this historic opera house offers a variety of theatrical, musical and community events year-round. Guided and self-guided tours available.
The Cargnegie Museum of Keweenaw shows rotating exhibits about the area's culture and natural history. Founded in 2006, the museum is housed in the former Houghton public library building which was built in 1910.
Exhibits follow Chassell's history from a logging camp to today. A collection of vintage clothing provides a glimpse into people's lives.
Built in 1898, the historic Red Jacket Fire Station features displays dedicated to the history of fire fighting in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. The historic fire trucks appeal to people of all ages.
Artifact-rich displays depict people's lives and work experiences in the range towns of southern Houghton County during the copper mining era.
Coppertown Mining Museum
Housed in the former Calumet and Hecla pattern shop, this museum features exhibits on the former copper mining giant's underground and surface operations.
Delaware Copper Mine
At Delaware Mine, visitors can take a self-guided tour of one of the oldest underground copper mines on the Keweenaw Peninsula.
Located on the campus of Finlandia University, the Finnish American Heritage Center houses the Finnish American Historical Archive and Museum, a theater, an art gallery, and the offices of The Finnish American Reporter. Regular performances and art exhibits highlight Finnish culture.
The U.S. Army built Fort Wilkins in 1844 to keep peace in Michigan's Copper Country. It now serves as an example of mid-19th century army life on the northern frontier. The park also includes the Copper Harbor Lighthouse along with the 1848 light keeper's house and interpretive trails. The lighthouse is reached by boat through the summer season.
Herman Hanka settled here with his family after he was disabled by a copper mining accident. Volunteers provide guided tours of this 1920's-era Finnish farm. A self-guided brochure is also available.
Explore this seven-building complex, which includes a museum containing artifacts and photographs spanning 100 years, a one-room schoolhouse, a log cabin, a railroad depot, a research center, and an operating 1915 C&H 0-4-0 steam train.
The Historical Society maintains 11 sites in Keweenaw County. The Eagle Harbor Lighthouse Museum Complex includes the lighthouse, Maritime, Keweenaw History, and Commercial Fishing Museums. Other sites include Rathbone School, Eagle Harbor Lifesaving Station, Central Mine, Phoenix Church, Bammert Blacksmith Shop, Eagle River Museum, and the Historic School at Gay.
This majestic sandstone structure with intricate stained glass windows marks the entrance to downtown Calumet. Organists will again provide visitors with enjoyable music selections some afternoons on the newly restored 1899 Barkhoff Tracker organ.
Thomas Hoatson Jr., owner of the Calumet & Arizona Mining Company, built this 45-room, 13,000 sq.ft. home in 1908 using the finest and rarest building materials available. Self-guided tours. Lodging available year round.
Location: 320 Tamarack Street, Laurium
The Michigan Tech Archives house a wide variety of print, graphic and manuscript resources. The department's holdings include collections from the Quincy Mining Company and Calumet & Hecla Mining company.
Four log cabins, restored at their original remote mining location, give visitors a true feeling of the life faced by copper miners and their families. Guided tours will take you back in time for an hour.
The museum features exhibits on area mining, logging, farming, marine, and social memorabilia. Tours are provided of the nearby lighthouse.
In addition to wild forests and lakeshore, Michigan's largest state park has numerous historical copper mining sites. The 59,020-acre park offers an array of summer and winter recreational pursuits and interpretive programs.
On a two-hour tour of the Quincy Mine, visitors take a guided walk through the hoist house, ride a cog-rail tram, and enter the mine to learn about mining life. Shorter, surface-only tours are also available.
Last updated: June 19, 2022