Visit the Region

Junior Ranger Program


National Parks
Region 1- North Atlantic-Appalachian of the National Park Service (NPS) spans over 80 sites ranging from wilderness areas and coastal habitats to historical and recreational trails, historic sites, and battlefields. It covers an immense landscape from the boreal forests of Maine to the ancient ridges of the Appalachian mountains. It is uniquely positioned within NPS to engage with the highest population density corridor in the United States. Visitors can experience the wonder of nature or take a trip back in time to the very founding of our nation and our ongoing journey to form a more perfect union . Hike along a ridge top trail, paddle down a historic waterway, walk along a beach, visit a hallowed civil war battlefield, enjoy a beautiful designed garden, or embrace the spirit of liberty.

A listing of sites by state.
Planning a trip? Use the Find a Park tool.
National Wild and Scenic Rivers
In 1968, a Presidential commission recommended that the nation protect wild rivers and scenic rivers from development that would substantially change their wild or scenic nature. Since the nearly 13,000 miles of river in 38 states and Puerto Rico are preserved for possessing outstandingly remarkable scenic, recreational, geologic, fish and wildlife, historic, cultural, or other similar values.
Boardwalk at Orono Bog National Natural Landmark
Boardwalk at Orono Bog National Natural Landmark, Maine.


National Natural Landmarks
National Natural Landmarks are the best examples of biological and geological features found both public and private ownership are selected for their outstanding condition, illustrative value, rarity, diversity, and value to science and education. Sites are designated by the Secretary of the Interior, with landowner concurrence, and to-date, nearly 600 landmarks have received the NNL designation within the United States, American Samoa, Guam, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands.
Horses walking through the water
Assateague Island National Seashore


Land and Water Conservation Fund
The Land and Water Conservation Fund (LWCF) Program provides matching grants to states and local governments for the acquisition and development of public outdoor recreation areas and facilities. Founded in 1964 to conserve America's natural and cultural heritage, LWCF is dedicated to the continued conservation of iconic national parks, forests, wildlife refuges, wilderness, Civil War battlefields, and important historic sites, as well as developing state and local parks, working forests, connecting urban youth to nature, providing hunting and angling access, helping to protect threatened and endangered species and protecting water quality and drinking water. LWCF, which is funded through off-shore gas royalties and not taxpayer dollars, strives to provide access for all Americans to their public lands.
National Historic Landmarks
National Historic Landmarks (NHLs) are nationally significant historic places designated by the Secretary of the Interior because they possess exceptional value or quality in illustrating or interpreting the heritage of the United States. Today, more than 2,500 historic places bear this national distinction, with approximately 1,500 located in Region 1.

Last updated: January 13, 2021