Order of Battle Chancellorsville Union Cavalry

Cavalry Corps: Army of the Potomac:
Brigadier General George Stoneman

First Division:
Brigadier General Alfred Pleasonton

First Brigade:
Colonel Benjamin Davis

8th Illinois Cavalry: Lieut. Col. David R. Clendenin
3d Indiana Cavalry: Col. George H. Chapman
8th New York Cavalry: Lieut. Col. William Markell
9th New York Cavalry: Col. William Sackett

Second Brigade:
Colonel Thomas Devin

1st Michigan Cavalry (1 Company), Company L: Lieut. John K. Truax
6th New York Cavalry:
Lieut. Col. Duncan McVicar (k)
Capt. William E. Beardsley
8th Pennsylvania Cavalry: Maj. Pennock Huey
17th Pennsylvania Cavalry: Col. Josiah Kellogg

Divisional Artillery:

6th New York Independent Artillery: Lieut. Joseph W. Martin

Second Division:
Brigadier General William Averell

First Brigade:
Colonel Horace Sargent

1st Massachusetts Cavalry: Lieut. Col. Greely S. Curtis
4th New York Cavalry: Col. Louis P. Di Cesnola
6th Ohio Cavalry: Maj. Benjamin C. Stanhope
1st Rhode Island Cavalry: Lieut. Col. John L. Thompson

Second Brigade:
Colonel John McIntosh

3rd Pennsylvania Cavalry: Lieut. Col. Edward S. Jones
4th Pennsylvania Cavalry: Lieut. Col. William E. Doster
16th Pennsylvania Cavalry: Lieut. Col. Lorenzo D. Rogers

Divisional Artillery:

2nd United States Artillery, Battery A, Capt. John C. Tidball

Third Division:
Brigadier General David McM. Gregg

First Brigade:
Colonel Judson Kilpatrick

1st Maine Cavalry: Col. Calvin S. Douty
2nd New York Cavalry: Lieut. Col. Henry E. Davies Jr
10th New York Cavalry: Lieut. Col. William Irvine

Second Brigade:
Colonel Percy Wyndham

12th Illinois Cavalry: Lieut. Col. Hasbrouck Davis
1st Maryland Cavalry: Lieut. Col. James M. Deems
1st New Jersey Cavalry: Lieut. Col. Virgil Brodrick
1st Pennsylvania Cavalry: Col. John P. Taylor

Reserve Cavalry Brigade
Brigadier General John Buford

6th Pennsylvania Cavalry: Maj. Robert Morris Jr.
1st United States Cavalry: Capt. R. S. C. Lord
2nd United States Maj. Charles Whiting
5th United States Cavalry: Capt. James Harrison
6th United States Cavalry: Capt. George C. Cram

Horse Artillery:
Captain James Robertson

2nd United States Horse Artillery, Batteries B and L: Lieut. Albert O. Vincent
2nd United States Horse Artillery, Battery M: Lieut. Robert Clarke
4th United States Horse Artillery, Battery E: Lieut. Samuel S. Elder

Union High Command.
1st Army Corps.

2nd Army Corps.

3rd army Corps.

5th Army Corps.

6th army Corps.

11th Army Corps.

12th Army Corps.

Orders of Battle Page.

Last updated: February 26, 2015

Contact the Park

Mailing Address:

120 Chatham Ln
Fredericksburg, VA 22405


(540) 693-3200

Contact Us