Order of Battle Chancellorsville Union 2nd Corps

Second Army Corps:

Major General Darius Couch

Chief of Artillery:

Lieutenant Colonel Charles H. Morgan

Headquarters Escort:

6th New York Cavalry, (2 Companies), Companies D and K: Capt. Riley Johnson

First Division:
Major General Winfield Scott Hancock

First Brigade:
Brigadier General John Caldwell

61st New York (Clinton Guards):
Col. Nelson A. Miles (w, moh)
Lieut. Col. K. Oscar Broady
66th New York (Governor’s Guard): (attached): Col. Orlando Morris
148th Pennsylvania:
Col. James A. Beaver (w)
Maj. George A. Fairlamb

Second Brigade (Irish Brigade):
Brigadier General Thomas Meagher

28th Massachusetts: Col. Richard Byrnes
63rd New York (Third Regiment Irish Volunteer’s): Lieut. Col. Richard C. Bentley
69th New York (First Regiment Irish Brigade): Capt. James E. McGee
116th Pennsylvania (battalion, 4 Companies): Maj. St. Clair A. Mulholland

Third Brigade:
Brigadier General Samuel Zook

52nd New York (Sigel Rifles):
Col. Paul Frank
Lieut. Col. Charles G. Freudenberg
57th New York (Zook’s Voltigerus): Lieut. Col. Alford B. Chapman
140th Pennsylvania: Col. Richard P. Roberts

Fourth Brigade:
Colonel John Brooke

27th Connecticut: Col. Richard S. Bostwick (c)
2nd Delaware: Lieut. Col. David L. Stricker
64th New York: Col. Daniel G. Bingham
53rd Pennsylvania: Lieut. Col. Richards McMichael
145th Pennsylvania: Col. Hiram L. Brown

Fifth Brigade (attached):
Colonel Edward Cross

5th New Hampshire: Lieut. Col. Charles Hapgood
Pennsylvania: Col. H. Boyd McKeen (w)
New York: Col. Patrick Kelly

Divisional Artillery:
Captain Rufus Pettit

1st New York Light Artillery, Battery B: Capt. Rufus D. Pettit
4th United States, Battery C: Lieut. Evan Thomas

Second Division:
Brigadier General John Gibbon

First Brigade:
(1.) Brigadier General Alfred Sully
(2.) Colonel Henry Hudson
(3.) Colonel Byron Laflin

19th Maine: Col. Francis Heath
15th Massachusetts: Maj. George C. Joslin
1st Minnesota: Lieut. Col. William Colvill, Jr
34th New York:
Col. Byron Laflin
Lieut. Col. John Beverly
82d New York (2d Militia):
Col. Henry W. Hudson
Lieut. Col. James Huston

Second Brigade (Philadelphia Brigade):
Brigadier General Joshua T. Owen

69th Pennsylvania: Col. Dennis O'Kane
71st Pennsylvania: Col. Richard P. Smith
72d Pennsylvania: Col. De Witt C. Baxter
106th Pennsylvania: Col. Turner G. Morehead

Third Brigade:
Colonel Norman Hall

19th Massachusetts: Lieut. Col. Arthur F. Devereux.
20th Massachusetts (Harvard Regiment): Lieut. Col. George N. Macy
7th Michigan: Capt. Amos E. Steele, Jr
49d New York: Col. James E. Mallon
59th New York: Lieut. Col. Max A. Thoman
127th Pennsylvania: Col. William W. Jennings

Divisional Artillery:

1st Rhode Island Light Artillery, Battery A: Capt. William A. Arnold
1st Rhode Island Light Artillery, Battery B: Lieut. T. Frederick Brown


1st Company Massachusetts: Capt. William Plumer

Third Division:
Major General William (Blinky) French

First Brigade:
Colonel Samuel Carroll

14th Indiana: Col. John Coons
24th New Jersey: Col. William B. Robertson
28th New Jersey:
Lieut. Col. John A. Wildrick (c)
Maj. Samuel K. Wilson
4th Ohio: Lieut. Col. Leonard W. Carpenter
8th Ohio: Lieut. Col. Franklin Sawyer
7th West Virginia:
Col. Joseph Snider
Lieut. Col. Jonathan H. Lockwood

Second Brigade:
(1.) Brigadier General William Hays (c)
(2.) Colonel Charles Powers

14th Connecticut: Maj. Theodore G. Ellis
12th New Jersey:
Col. J. Howard Willets (w)
Maj. John T. Hill
108th New York:
Col. Charles J. Powers
Lieut. Col. Francis E. Pierce
130th Pennsylvania:
Col. Levi Maish (w)
Maj. Joseph S. Jenkins

Third Brigade:
(1) Colonel John MacGregor
(2) Colonel Charles Albright

1st Delaware: Col. Thomas A. Smyth
4th New York: Lieut. Col. William Jameson
132nd Pennsylvania:
Col. Charles Albright
Lieut. Col. Joseph E. Shreve

Divisional Artillery:

1st New York Light Artillery, Battery G: Lieut. Nelson Ames
1st Rhode Island Light, Battery G: Capt. George W. Adams

Second Corps Reserve Artillery:

1st United States Artillery, Battery I: Lieut. Edmund Kirby (mw)
4th United States Artillery, Battery A: Lieut. Alonzo H. Cushing

Union High Command.

1st Army Corps.

2nd Army Corps.

3rd Army Corps.
5th Army Corps.

6th Army Corps.
11th Army Corps.
12th Army Corps.

Union Cavalry Corps.

Orders of Battle Page.

Last updated: February 26, 2015

Contact the Park

Mailing Address:

120 Chatham Ln
Fredericksburg, VA 22405


(540) 693-3200

Contact Us