Order of Battle Chancellorsville: Union 1st Army Corps

First Army Corps, Army of the Potomac:

Major General John Reynolds

Chief of Artillery: Colonel Charles Wainwright

Headquarters Escort:

1st Maine Cavalry, Company L: Capt. Constantine Taylor.

First Division:

Brigadier General James Wadsworth

First Brigade:

Colonel Walter Phelps, Jr

22nd New York: Maj. Thomas J. Strong
24th New York: Col. Samuel R. Beardsley
30th New York: Col. William M. Searing
84th New York (14th Militia): Col. Edward B. Fowler

Second Brigade:
Brigadier General Lysander Cutler

7th Indiana: Lieut. Col. Ira G. Grover
76th New York (Cortland County Regiment): Col. William P. Wainwright
95th New York (Warren Rifles): Col. George H. Biddle
147th New York (Oswego Regiment): Col. John G. Butler
56th Pennsylvania: Col. William Hofmann

Third Brigade:
Brigadier General: Gabriel Paul

22nd New Jersey: Col. Abraham G. Demarest
29th New Jersey: Col. William R. Taylor
30th New Jersey: Col. John J. Cladek
31st New Jersey: Lieut. Col. Robert R. Honeyman
137th Pennsylvania: Col. Joseph B. Kiddoo

Fourth Brigade (Iron Brigade):
Brigadier General Solomon (Long Sol) Meredith

19th Indiana: Col. Samuel J. Williams
24th Michigan: Col. Henry A. Morrow
2nd Wisconsin: Col. Lucius Fairchild
6th Wisconsin: Col. Edward S. Bragg
7th Wisconsin: Col. William W. Robinson

Divisional Artillery:
Captain John A. Reynolds

1st New Hampshire Light Artillery: Capt. Frederick Edgell
1st New York Light, Battery L: Capt. John A. Reynolds
4th United States, Battery B, Lieut. James Stewart

Second Division:
Brigadier General John Robinson

First Brigade:
Colonel Adrian Root

16th Maine: Col. Charles W. Tilden
94th New York (Belle Jefferson Rifles): Capt. Samuel A. Moffett
104th New York (Wadsworth Guards): Col. Gilbert G. Prey
107th Pennsylvania: Col. Thomas F. McCoy

Second Brigade:
Brigadier General Henry Baxter

12th Massachusetts (Webster Regiment): Col. James L. Bates
26th New York: Lieut. Col. Gilbert S. Jennings
90th Pennsylvania: Col. Peter Lyle
136th Pennsylvania: Col. Thomas M. Bayne

Third Brigade:
Colonel Samuel Leonard

13th Massachusetts: Lieut. Col. N. Walter Batchelder
83d New York (9th Militia): Lieut. Col. Joseph A. Moesch
97th New York: Col. Charles Wheelock
11th Pennsylvania: Col. Richard Coulter
88th Pennsylvania (Cameron Light Guards): Lieut. Col. Louis Wagner

Divisional Artillery:
Captain Dunbar Ranom

2nd Maine Artillery, Battery B: Capt. James A. Hall
5th Maine Artillery, Battery E:
Capt. George F. Leppien (w)
Lieut. Edmund Kirby (mw)
Lieut. Greenleaf T. Stevens
Pennsylvania Independent Light Artillery, Battery C: Capt. James Thompson
5th United States, Battery C: Capt. Dunbar R. Ransom

Third Division:
Major General Abner Doubleday

First Brigade:
Brigadier General Thomas Rowley

121st Pennsylvania: Col. Chapman Biddle
135th Pennsylvania: Col. James R. Porter
142nd Pennsylvania: Col. Robert P. Cummins
151st Pennsylvania (School Teacher Regiment): Col. Harrison Allen

Second Brigade (Bucktail Brigade):
Colonel Roy Stone

143rd Pennsylvania: Col. Edmund L. Dana
149th Pennsylvania (Second Bucktails): Lieut. Col. Walton Dwight
150th Pennsylvania (Third Bucktails): Col. Langhorne Wister

Divisional Artillery:
Major Ezra Matthews

1st Pennsylvania Light, Battery B: Capt. James H. Cooper
1st Pennsylvania Light, Battery F: Lieut. R. Bruce Ricketts
1st Pennsylvania Light, Battery G: Capt. Frank P. Amsden

Union High Command.

2nd Army Corps.
3rd Army Corps.

5th Army Corps.

6th Army Corps.

11th Army Corps.

12th Army Corps.

Union Cavalry Corps.

Orders of Battle Page.

Last updated: February 26, 2015

Contact the Park

Mailing Address:

120 Chatham Ln
Fredericksburg, VA 22405


(540) 693-3200

Contact Us