Visiting Women’s Rights National Historical Park
Touring the Sites
Visitors are welcome to tour Women’s Rights National Historical Park’s visitor center, historic homes (open seasonally), and the Wesleyan Chapel.
Visitor Center- 136 Fall Street, Seneca Falls, NY 315-568-0024
Open Daily from 9:00 am to 5:00 pm (Closed Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day, and New Year’s Day)
Through statues of the convention organizers, exhibits, and an orientation film, visitors learn about the history of the women’s rights movement.
Film: Dreams of Equality (Park Introductory Film, 25 minutes)
Showtimes: 9:15 am, 10:00 am, 11:00 am, 12:00 pm, 1:00 pm, 2:00 pm, 3:00 pm and 4:00 pm
- Younger visitors and students can participate in our Scavenger Hunt while exploring the Visitor Center and the Wesleyan Chapel.
Open Daily from 9:00 am to 4:30 pm (Closed Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day, and New Year’s Day)
The Wesleyan Chapel is the location of the First Women’s Rights Convention held on July 19 and 20, 1848, in which approximately 300 people gathered to attend. It is considered by many historians to the formal beginning of the Women’s Rights Movement in the United States.
Today, visitors can learn more about the First Women’s Rights Convention, the Wesleyan Methodist Church, and the restoration process to save this historic structure through exhibits and ranger talks.
The Waterwall at Declaration Park- 136 Fall Street, Seneca Falls, NY
Open Daily, Dawn to Dusk
A 100 foot long bluestone water feature located in Declaration Park (located between the Visitor Center and Wesleyan Chapel) is inscribed with the words of the Declaration of Sentiments. The Waterwall and Declaration Park provides visitors with a space to gather and reflect on these powerful words.
Elizabeth Cady Stanton House- 32 Washington Street, Seneca Falls, NY
The home of Elizabeth Cady Stanton, the main organizer of the Seneca Falls’ Woman’s Right Convention and primary author of the Declaration of Sentiments, Stanton called it the “Center of the Rebellion” during her family’s 15 years in Seneca Falls.
Today, visitors can visit the interior of house with ranger-led tours. The grounds are open for self-guided tours via informational markers from dawn to dusk.
M'Clintock House- 14 Williams Street, Waterloo, NY
At the home of Thomas and Mary Ann M’Clintock, the First Women's Rights Convention was planned and the Declaration of Sentiments was drafted on July 16, 1848. Four members of the family will go on to sign the Declaration of Sentiments during the convention.
The M’Clintock family moved to Waterloo from Philadelphia in 1836. For twenty years, the family lived here while they operated a drug store, led local Quaker meetings, served as a station on the Underground Railroad, and supported Temperance and Women’s Rights movements.
Today, visitors can visit the house and learn about the Quaker influence on the Women’s Rights movement, the Underground Railroad, and the planning of the First Women’s Rights Convention through ranger talks.
Junior Ranger Program: Geared towards children/students ages 5 to 12 years old, this downloadable booklet consists of activities that teach about civil rights and human rights. Printed copies are available in the Visitor Center.
Guided Walking Tours (Offered Seasonally): Explore Seneca Falls history from different perspectives on a walking tour from the Visitor Center through the Historic District to the Elizabeth Cady Stanton House.
Please note: A typical tour is one hour in length and it is one mile to the Stanton House from the Visitor Center- two-miles roundtrip.
Go to the Events Calendar for information on special events in the park.
Groups of 8 visitors or more, please visit our Group Tours and Field Trips page.