Parks & Partners

Basic map of western Washington and northern Oregon showing the 7 parks in the North Coast and Cascades Network as green polygons on beige background

The seven national park units of North Coast and Cascades Inventory and Monitoring Network include three large national parks: Olympic, Mount Rainier, and North Cascades, and four smaller, historic areas: Fort Vancouver National Historic Site, San Juan Island National Historical Park, Ebey's Landing National Historical Reserve, and Lewis and Clark National Historical Park. An eighth park in the network, Klondike Gold Rush—Seattle Unit, has no natural resources and is not part of our Inventory and Monitoring program.

The three large parks have vast mountainous landscapes with diverse environments. The four small parks are cultural landmarks tied to early settlement of the region. The parks share similar values about protecting the natural and cultural resources and the importance of long-term monitoring for conservation.

North Coast and Cascades Network Parks

Image of the NCCN partner logos: USGS, Institute for Bird Populations, Muckleshoot and Puyallup Tribes, Multi-Agency Rocky Intertidal Network, Washington Dept. of Fish & Wildlife, Environmental Monitoring Analysis & Process Recognition Lab
Logos of the partner organizations working with North Coast and Cascades Network

Our Partners

Monitoring natural resources across these large and diverse landscapes is a challenge with limited staff. The North Coast and Cascades Networks has enlisted the support of a variety of organizations and groups to assist us with the enormous tasks of collecting and analyzing large quantities of data and then summarizing and reporting our findings, as well as developing final products. We are grateful to these partners for their vital contributions in our work.


Last updated: April 25, 2023