Maritime Heritage Grants: Current and Past Recipients

National Maritime Heritage Grants Program History

The National Maritime Heritage Grant Program, administered by the National Park Service's Park History Program, was established under the National Maritime Heritage Act of 1994 (54 USC 308701-380707). The first grants were awarded in 1998, however the program was suspended between 1999 and 2013. 

In 2013, the National Park Service (NPS) and the Department of Transportation's Maritime Administration (MarAd) entered into a Memorandum of Agreement that re-established the National Maritime Heritage Grant Program and created a partnership to promote and advance public awareness and appreciation for the nation’s maritime heritage.

National Maritime Heritage Grants were awarded in 1998, 2014, 2015, 2016, and 2018. Grants were also awarded in 2023, but information on those subgrant projects is not yet available.

Previously Funded Projects

The table below contains projects that were funded under previous Maritime Heritage grant cycles. The grant process was changed in 2022 and the National Maritime Heritage Grant Program now awards grants to prime recipients who may then create competitive subgrant programs. Please note that grant projects awarded in later cycles may represent subgrantee projects.
Table of previously funded grants, detailing location, grantee, and grant award amount.
Grants CycleState/TerritoryRecipientProject TitleAward

Last updated: May 28, 2024