Guided Tours

Visitors on a ranger-led streetscape tour walk by Little Rock Central High School.
A streetscape tour is a guided, walking interpretive tour that shares the story of the Little Rock Nine, desegregation, education and civil rights. Streetscape tours do not have access into Little Rock Central High School. 

NPS Photo

The Little Rock Central High School National Historic Site visitor center reopened to the public on Tuesday, October 12, 2021; limited public access is available inside the visitor center, exhibits, restrooms, and Jefferson National Parks Association bookstore.


Information on Ranger-Led Guided Tours

  • Ranger-led guided tours at Little Rock Central High School NHS can be reserved only between Tuesday - Saturday and only at 1:00 PM CST/CDT; programs do not include access inside Little Rock Central High School (LRCHS) due to COVID-19 restrictions. For visitor planning purposes, below is a list of dates when tours are either booked or not available.
  • Ranger-led guided tours are by confirmed reservation only and must be reserved in advance. For the best possible availability, we recommend calling to request reservations at minimum 2 months or more in advance as we do not provide ranger-led tours without a confirmed reservation.
  • Tours have a set limit of participants (25 for this current phased access); groups wanting to bring more than 25 visitors must contact the park in advance at (501) 374-1957 to see if an accommodation can be made.
  • Ranger-led guided tours start at the Visitor Center located at 2120 W Daisy L Gatson Bates Drive; the Visitor Center offers free parking and can accommodate cars, buses and RVs. Ranger-led guided tours involve crossing two streets at an intersection to reach Little Rock Central High School. Paved crosswalks and sidewalks connect the visitor center to Little Rock Central High School and are accessible. A tour may involve several periods of time outdoors in various temperatures; in the event of inclement weather, a tour may either be modified to stay inside the visitor center or shortened in duration.
  • Ranger-led guided tours are walking interpretive programs from the visitor center to Little Rock Central High School that will share the story of the Little Rock Nine, desegregation, education and this moment in the civil rights movement. The route of the tour may go onto the grounds of Little Rock Central High School, the grounds of the Magnolia Mobil Station, into the Commemorative Garden and/or to the Elizabeth Eckford Bus Bench, all of which are accessible. The landing at the main entrance to Little Rock Central High School is not accessible.
  • Please note - these ranger-led guided tours are not focused on LRCHS and its architecture.


Note - This list of dates below will designate whether dates/space is available OR where reservations are already at capacity; we will update this and provide AVAILABLE updates for the next two months upcoming as we move through each month in 2022.

  • No Sunday and Monday tours in 2022 until further notice; the visitor center is open and programs are available from Tuesday to Saturday.
  • Updated as of Wednesday, May 18, 2022


May 2022 - REMAINING AVAILABILITY

  • Saturday, May 21 (limited space)
  • Wednesday, May 25 (limited space)
  • Thursday, May 26 (limited space)
  • Friday, May 27 (limited space)
  • Tuesday, May 31 (limited space)



June 2022 - REMAINING AVAILABILITY

  • Wednesday, June 1
  • Thursday, June 2
  • Friday, June 3
  • Saturday, June 4
  • Tuesday, June 7
  • Tuesday, June 14
  • Wednesday, June 15
  • Thursday, June 16
  • Saturday, June 18
  • Friday, June 24
  • Saturday, June 25
  • Wednesday, June 29
  • Thursday, June 30


July 2022 - UNAVAILABLE DATES

  • Saturday, July 9
  • Wednesday, July 13
  • Friday, July 15
  • Tuesday, July 19
  • Wednesday, July 20
  • Thursday, July 21
  • Friday, July 22
  • Wednesday, July 27
  • Thursday, July 28
  • Friday, July 29

August 2022 - unavailable dates

  • Thursday, August 18

September 2022 - unavailable dates

  • Friday, September 23
  • Saturday, September 24
  • Tuesday, September 27

October 2022 - unavailable dates

  • Wednesday, October 5
  • Tuesday, October 18
  • Wednesday, October 26

November 2022 - unavailable dates

  • Wednesday, November 2
  • Thursday, November 3
  • Friday, November 4


* Note - Additional dates without ranger-led guided tours may be added in 2022.



Best way to reserve a ranger-led guided tour:

  1. Call (501) 374-1957, the park's main phone number.

  2. When reserving a tour, please be prepared with the following information or leave this in your message:

    • Name for the individual or group - this will be our point of contact

    • A phone number (preferably a cell phone you will have on the day of the tour)

    • Number of people you want to go on the tour

    • An email address that you check - we will send a confirmation email to this address

    • Any accessibility accomodations or special requests we can provide on a tour

  3. We will reserve and confirm the date, time, phone number and other relevant details with you either with an emailed confirmation.

Last updated: May 18, 2022

Park footer

Contact Info

Mailing Address:

Little Rock Central High School NHS
2120 W. Daisy L. Gatson Bates Drive

Little Rock , AR 72202-5212

Phone:

501.374.1957

Contact Us

Stay Connected