Cumberland Visitor Center

Photo of Cumberland Visitor Center
Cumberland Visitor Center is full of informative and interactive exhibits.

NPS Photo

Western Maryland Railway Station, 13 Canal Street, Room 100, Cumberland, MD 21502
(301) 722-8226 (As of 5/29/2019 phone lines are down. Call (301) 491-2597 or Allegany Tourism at (301) 777-5132.)

Find interactive and educational displays about the history of the Chesapeake and Ohio Canal and the city of Cumberland, Maryland. Pass through a model of the Paw Paw Tunnel and step back into the hey day of the canal. Awaiting you is a life size section of a canal boat. View exhibits on the canal's construction, cargo, mules, locks, and crew.


Hours of Operation

Closing at noon on Christmas Eve and New Years Eve
Closed Christmas Day and New Years Day

January 2 through March 31st

Open daily
10AM to 4PM

April through December

Open daily
9AM to 5PM


From the East

Take exit 43C off 1-68. At bottom of ramp make a left onto Harrison St. and follow Harrison to the Visitor Center in the Western Maryland Railway Station.

From the West

Take exit 43C off 1-68. Make a left at Queen City Drive at bottom of ramp. At traffic light make another left onto Harrison St. Follow Harrison to the visitor center in the Western Maryland Railway Station.


Visitor Centers

| Brunswick | Cumberland | Ferry Hill | Georgetown | Great Falls Tavern | Hancock | Williamsport |

Last updated: December 9, 2019

Contact the Park

Mailing Address:

1850 Dual Highway, Suite 100
Hagerstown, MD 21740



Contact Us