National Parks & National Cemeteries

Currently, the National Park Service manages 14 national cemeteries. Eleven of these cemeteries were transferred from the War Department to the Department of the Interior by Executive Order No. 6166 in 1933. Three national cemeteries were authorized or transferred after 1933. These cemeteries represent a continuum of use dating to a period before the establishment of the historical parks of which they are an integral part and are administered to preserve the historic character, uniqueness, and solemn nature of both the cemeteries and the historical parks of which they are a part.

National Cemeteries administered by the National Park Service are classified as either "active" or "closed." Active cemeteries have casket or cremation gravesites available for first interments. A first interment is the initial burial of human remains following the death of the individual. Closed cemeteries have no available unreserved gravesites for either casket or cremation first interments, but may inter eligible family members in the same gravesite as previously interred individuals.

Andersonville National Cemetery remains the only National Cemetery administered by the National Park Service. Andrew Johnson, Antietam, Battleground, Chalmette, Fort Donelson, Fredericksburg, Gettysburg, Poplar Grove, Shiloh, Stones River, Vicksburg, Yorktown and Custer National Cemeteries are closed.

Map of the United States showing National Cemeteries


The 14 national cemeteries managed by the Department of the Interior's National Park Service are:

Last updated: August 16, 2023

Park footer

Contact Info

Mailing Address:

Andersonville National Historic Site
496 Cemetery Road

Andersonville, GA 31711


229 924-0343

Contact Us