Traditionally Associated Tribes

A Homeland to Many

The lands currently managed by Joshua Tree National Park include parts of the traditional homelands of the Maara’yam (Serrano), Nüwü (Chemehuevi), and Kawiya (Cahuilla), and the traditional use area of the Aha Macave (Mohave). Today, these groups are represented by 15 federally-recognized tribal governments:

Joshua Tree National Park acknowledges the 15 associated tribal communities as the original stewards of the land on which Joshua Tree National Park now sits. We are grateful to have the opportunity to work with the indigenous people of this place. We pay our respect to the people past, present and emerging who have been here since time immemorial.

Olla and basket
Olla and basket

Last updated: November 7, 2023

Park footer

Contact Info

Mailing Address:

74485 National Park Drive
Twentynine Palms, CA 92277-3597


760 367-5500

Contact Us