The Oconaluftee area offers both a visitor center and the Mountain Farm Museum, a collection of historic log buildings gathered from throughout the Smokies and preserved on a single site. Buildings include a house, barn, applehouse, springhouse, and smokehouse.
Mountain Farm Museum
The Mountain Farm Museum is a unique collection of farm buildings assembled from locations throughout the park. Visitors can explore a log farmhouse, barn, apple house, springhouse, and a working blacksmith shop to get a sense of how families may have lived 100 years ago. Most of the structures were built in the late 19th century and were moved here in the 1950s. The Davis House offers a rare chance to view a log house built from chestnut wood before the chestnut blight decimated the American Chestnut in our forests during the 1930s and early 1940s. The museum is adjacent to the Oconaluftee Visitor Center.
A half-mile north of the Oconaluftee Visitor Center is Mingus Mill. Built in 1886, this historic gristmill uses a water-powered turbine instead of a water wheel to power all of the machinery in the building. Located at its original site, Mingus Mill stands as a tribute to the test of time. Visit the mill 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM daily mid-March through mid-November; also open on Thanksgiving weekend.
Mountain Farm Museum Self-Guiding Tour
Visit Great Smoky Mountains National Park's official online store for other books, maps, and guides to the park. Operated by the nonprofit Great Smoky Mountains Association, proceeds generated by purchases at the store are donated to educational, scientific, and historical projects in the park.
Last updated: August 20, 2022