Native America Speaks

Blackfeet Tipis
Blackfeet Tipis

NPS/Doug McMains

Each summer Blackfeet, Salish, Kootenai,and Pend d'Oreille tribal members share their knowledge of the history and culture of Native America with Glacier National Park visitors as part of the Native America Speaks program. Programs are offered in campgrounds, lodges, and at St. Mary Visitor Center. This year we are expanding to include programs in Browning and Babb, MT.

All Native American interpretive programs offered at Glacier National Park are made possible through a generous donation from Glacier National Park Conservancy.

Check out the Summer 2018 schedule of programs below.

Program Highlights

Jack Gladstone, a Grammy-nominated Blackfeet singer/songwriter, presents his new "Glacier's Triple Divide: Heritage & Legacy" program. His program uses original live music to discuss and honor Native American contributions to American culture.

The Blackfeet Singers and Dancers provide insight into contemporary and traditional Blackfeet history and culture through narration and fancy, jingle, traditional, and grass dance demonstrations at the St. Mary Visitor Center.

 

July Programs


*A fee is charged for programs marked with an asterisk. Proceeds help the Glacier National Park Conservancy’s generous support of the
Native America Speaks program.
** There is an entrance fee for the Museum of the Plains Indian


July 1, Sun. - 8:00 pm - Triple Divide: Heritage and Legacy - Jack Gladstone - Many Glacier Hotel Lucerne Room

July 2, Mon. - 8:00 pm - Native America Speaks - Vernon Finley - Apgar Campground Amphitheater

July 3, Tues. - 8:00 pm - Native America Speaks - Ernie Heavy Runner - Many Glacier CG Amphitheater

July 4, Wed. - 7:00 pm - *Blackfeet Singers and Dancers - Blackfeet Singers and Dancers - St. Mary Visitor Center Auditorium

July 4, Wed. - 8:00 pm - Native America Speaks - Āasāisst·tǒ Language Society - Two Medicine CG Amphitheater

July 5, Thurs. - 8:00 pm - Native America Speaks - Darnell Rides at the Door - Rising Sun Campground Amphitheater

July 6, Fri. - 8:30 pm - Triple Divide: Heritage and Legacy - Jack Gladstone - Lake McDonald Lodge Auditorium

July 7, Sat. - 8:00 pm - Native America Speaks - Mariah Gladstone - Two Medicine CG Amphitheater

July 8, Sun. - 8:00 pm - Triple Divide: Heritage and Legacy - Jack Gladstone - Many Glacier Hotel Lucerne Room

July 9, Mon. - 8:00 pm - Native America Speaks - Frank Finley - Apgar Campground Amphitheater

July 10, Tues. - 8:00 pm - Native America Speaks - Jack Gladstone - Many Glacier CG Amphitheater

July 11, Wed. - 1:30 pm - **Native America Speaks - Āasāisst·tǒ Language Society - Museum of the Plains Indian, Browning, Montana

July 11, Wed. - 7:00 pm - *Blackfeet Singers and Dancers - Blackfeet Singers and Dancers - St. Mary Visitor Center Auditorium

July 11, Wed. - 8:00 pm - Native America Speaks - Darnell Rides at the Door - Two Medicine CG Amphitheater

July 12, Thurs. - 8:00 pm - Native America Speaks - Ernie Heavy Runner - Rising Sun Campground Amphitheater

July 13, Fri. - 8:30 pm - Triple Divide: Heritage and Legacy - Jack Gladstone - Lake McDonald Lodge Auditorium

July 14, Sat. - 8:00 pm - Native America Speaks - Āasāisst·tǒ Language Society - Two Medicine CG Amphitheater

July 15, Sun. - 8:00 pm - Triple Divide: Heritage and Legacy - Jack Gladstone - Many Glacier Hotel Lucerne Room

July 16, Mon. - 8:00 pm - Native America Speaks - Tony Incashola - Apgar Campground Amphitheater

July 17, Tues. - 8:00 pm - Native America Speaks - Darnell Rides at the Door - Many Glacier CG Amphitheater

July 17, Tues. - 8:00 pm - Native America Speaks - Mason Runs Through III - Chewing Black Bones CG Amphitheater, Babb, Montana

July 18, Wed. - 7:00 pm - *Blackfeet Singers and Dancers - Blackfeet Singers and Dancers - St. Mary Visitor Center Auditorium

July 18, Wed. - 8:00 pm - Native America Speaks - Jack Gladstone - Two Medicine CG Amphitheater

July 19, Thurs. - 1:30 pm - Native America Speaks - Ernie Heavy Runner - Heritage Center, Browning

July 19, Thurs. - 8:00 pm - Native America Speaks - Jack Gladstone - Rising Sun Campground Amphitheater

July 20, Fri. - 8:30 pm - Triple Divide: Heritage and Legacy - Jack Gladstone - Lake McDonald Lodge Auditorium

July 21, Sat. - 8:00 pm - Native America Speaks - Don Fish - Two Medicine CG Amphitheater

July 22, Sun. - 8:00 pm - Triple Divide: Heritage and Legacy - Jack Gladstone - Many Glacier Hotel Lucerne Room

July 23, Mon. - 8:00 pm - Native America Speaks - Steven Small Salmon - Apgar Campground Amphitheater

July 24, Tues. - 8:00 pm - Native America Speaks - Jack Gladstone - Many Glacier CG Amphitheater

July 25, Wed. - 1:30 pm - **Native America Speaks - Darnell Rides at the Door - Museum of the Plains Indian, Browning

July 25, Wed. - 7:00 pm - *Blackfeet Singers and Dancers - Blackfeet Singers and Dancers - St. Mary Visitor Center Auditorium

July 25, Wed. - 8:00 pm - Native America Speaks - Mariah Gladstone - Two Medicine CG Amphitheater

July 26, Thurs. - 8:00 pm - Native America Speaks - Āasāisst·tǒ Language Society - Rising Sun Campground Amphitheater

July 27, Fri. - 8:30 pm - Triple Divide: Heritage and Legacy - Jack Gladstone - Lake McDonald Lodge Auditorium

July 28, Sat. - 8:00 pm - Native America Speaks - Āasāisst·tǒ Language Society - Two Medicine CG Amphitheater

July 29, Sun. - 8:00 pm - Triple Divide: Heritage and Legacy - Jack Gladstone - Many Glacier Hotel Lucerne Room

July 30, Mon. - 8:00 pm - Native America Speaks - Vernon Finley - Apgar Campground Amphitheater

July 31, Tues. - 8:00 pm - Native America Speaks - Mariah Gladstone - Many Glacier CG Amphitheater

July 31, Tues. - 8:00 pm - Native America Speaks - Marvin Weather Wax Sr. - Chewing Black Bones CG Amphitheater, Babb, Montana
 

August Programs


Aug. 1, Wed. - 7:00 pm -*Blackfeet Singers and Dancers - Blackfeet Singers and Dancers - St. Mary Visitor Center Auditorium

Aug. 1, Wed. - 7:30 pm - Native America Speaks - Ernie Heavy Runner - Two Medicine CG Amphitheater

Aug. 2, Thur. - 10:00 am - Cultural Presentation - Darnell Rides at the Door - 1913 Ranger Station, St. Mary

Aug. 2, Thur. - 7:30 pm - Native America Speaks - Jack Gladstone - Rising Sun Campground Amphitheater

Aug. 3, Fri. - 8:30 pm - Triple Divide: Heritage and Legacy - Jack Gladstone - Lake McDonald Lodge Auditorium

Aug. 4, Sat. - 7:30 pm - Native America Speaks - Darnell Rides at the Door - Two Medicine CG Amphitheater

Aug. 5, Sun. - 8:00 pm - Triple Divide: Heritage and Legacy - Jack Gladstone - Many Glacier Hotel Lucerne Room

Aug. 6, Mon. - 7:30 pm - Native America Speaks - Frank Finley - Apgar Campground Amphitheater

Aug. 7, Tues. - 11:00 am - Cultural Presentation - Darnell Rides At The Door - Apgar Visitor Center

Aug. 7, Tues. - 7:30 pm - Native America Speaks - Jack Gladstone - Many Glacier CG Amphitheater

Aug. 8, Wed. - 1:30 pm - **Native America Speaks - Āasāisst·t ǒ Language Society - Museum of the Plains Indian, Browning

Aug. 8, Wed. - 7:00 pm - *Blackfeet Singers and Dancers - Blackfeet Singers and Dancers - St. Mary Visitor Center Auditorium

Aug. 8, Wed. - 7:30 pm - Native America Speaks - Jack Gladstone - Two Medicine CG Amphitheater

Aug. 9, Thurs. - 7:30 pm - Native America Speaks - Ernie Heavy Runner - Rising Sun Campground Amphitheater

Aug. 10, Fri. - 8:30 pm - Triple Divide: Heritage and Legacy - Jack Gladstone - Lake McDonald Lodge Auditorium

Aug. 11, Sat. - 7:30 pm - Native America Speaks - Āasāisst·t ǒ Language Society - Two Medicine CG Amphitheater

Aug. 12, Sun. - 8:00 pm - Triple Divide: Heritage and Legacy - Jack Gladstone - Many Glacier Hotel Lucerne Room

Aug. 13, Mon. - 7:30 pm - Native America Speaks - Tony Inchashola Sr. - Apgar Campground Amphitheater

Aug. 14, Tues. - 7:30 pm - Native America Speaks - Darnell Rides at the Door - Many Glacier CG Amphitheater

Aug. 14, Tues. - 7:30 pm - Native America Speaks - Edwin “Sooney” Little Plume Sr. - Chewing Black Bones CG Amphitheater

Aug. 15, Wed. - 7:30 pm - Native America Speaks - Mariah Gladstone - Two Medicine CG Amphitheater

Aug. 16, Thurs - 1:30 pm - Native America Speaks - Ernie Heavy Runner - Heritage Center

Aug. 16, Thurs. - 7:30 pm - Native America Speaks - Jack Gladstone - Rising Sun Campground Amphitheater

Aug. 17, Fri. - 8:30 pm - Triple Divide: Heritage and Legacy - Jack Gladstone - Lake McDonald Lodge Auditorium

Aug. 18, Sat. - 7:30 pm - Native America Speaks - Don Fish - Two Medicine CG Amphitheater

Aug. 19, Sun. - 8:00 pm - Triple Divide: Heritage and Legacy - Jack Gladstone - Many Glacier Hotel Lucerne Room

Aug. 20, Mon. - 7:30 pm - Native America Speaks - Vernon Finley - Apgar Campground Amphitheater

Aug. 21, Tues. - 7:30 pm - Native America Speaks - Āasāisst·t ǒ Language Society - Many Glacier CG Amphitheater

Aug. 22, Wed. - 1:30 pm - **Native America Speaks - Ernie Heavy Runner - Museum of the Plains Indian, Browning

Aug. 22, Wed. - 7:30 pm - Native America Speaks - Mason Runs Through III - Two Medicine CG Amphitheater

Aug. 23, Thurs - 10:00 am - Cultural Presentation - Darnell Rides at the Door - 1913 Ranger Station, St. Mary

Aug. 23, Thurs. - 7:30 pm - Native America Speaks - Āasāisst·t ǒ Language Society - Rising Sun Campground Amphitheater

Aug. 24, Fri. - 8:30 pm - Triple Divide: Heritage and Legacy - Jack Gladstone - Lake McDonald Lodge Auditorium

Aug. 25, Sat. - 7:30 pm - Native America Speaks - Darnell Rides at the Door - Two Medicine CG Amphitheater

Aug. 26, Sun. - 8:00 pm - Triple Divide: Heritage and Legacy - Jack Gladstone - Many Glacier Hotel Lucerne Room

Aug. 27, Mon. - 7:30 pm - Native America Speaks - Tony Inchashola Sr.- Apgar Campground Amphitheater

Aug. 28, Tues. - 7:30 pm - Native America Speaks - Jack Gladstone - Many Glacier CG Amphitheater

Aug. 28, Tues. - 7:30 pm - Native America Speaks - Mason Runs Through III - Chewing Black Bones CG Amphitheater

Aug. 29, Wed. - 7:30 pm - Native America Speaks - Ernie Heavy Runner - Two Medicine CG Amphitheater

Aug. 30, Thurs. - 7:30 pm - Native America Speaks - Jack Gladstone - Rising Sun Campground Amphitheater

Aug. 31, Fri. - 8:30 pm - Triple Divide: Heritage and Legacy - Jack Gladstone - Lake McDonald Lodge Auditorium

September Programs


Sept. 1, Sat. - 7:30 pm - Native America Speaks - Āasāisst·t ǒ Language Society - Two Medicine CG Amphitheater

Sept. 2, Sun. - 8:00 pm - Triple Divide: Heritage and Legacy - Jack Gladstone - Many Glacier Hotel Lucerne Room

Sept. 3, Mon. - 7:30 pm - Native America Speaks - Frank Finley - Apgar Campground Amphitheater

Sept 5, Wed. - 1:30 pm - **Native America Speaks - Darnell Rides At The Door - Museum of the Plains Indian, Browning

Sept. 7, Fri. - 8:30 pm - Triple Divide: Heritage and Legacy - Jack Gladstone - Lake McDonald Lodge Auditorium

Sept. 9, Sun. - 8:00 pm - Triple Divide: Heritage and Legacy - Jack Gladstone - Many Glacier Hotel Lucerne Room

Sept. 19, Wed. - 1:30 pm - **Native America Speaks - Ernie Heavy Runner - Museum of the Plains Indian, Brownin

Last updated: July 27, 2018

Contact the Park

Mailing Address:

PO Box 128
West Glacier, MT 59936

Phone:

(406) 888-7800

Contact Us