Williamsport and the surrounding area has a fascinating history. Situated at the confluence of the Conococheague Creek and the Potomac River, Williamsport was first settled in 1740. In 1790 George Washington considered it for the capital city of the United States but rejected Williamsport because of the inability of large ships to navigate the Potomac to this point. Close by is Falling Waters where the Confederate Army made its escape across the rain-swollen Potomac after the Battle of Gettysburg.
Things to Do
Alternate Parking and Towpath Access Points
1. Williamsport Visitor Center (mm 99.7) parking is still available, visitors may cross the Railroad Lift Bridge (adjacent to Rt. 11). This requires crossing a stairway that is equipped with a low bike rail. Due to the Conococheague Aqueduct Restoration project the pedestrain berm was removed to allow water to flow into it. Learn more about the restoration project here Conococheague Aqueduct
2.River Bottom Park (mm 99.6), across the Bollman Bridge, is a good parking area for wheelchair, stroller, and bike trailer access to the towpath.
3. Lockhouse 44 (mm 99.3), this is also an ADA and stroller accessible parking area.
4. Dam 5 (mm 106.8)
Last updated: February 15, 2020