News Release

National Park Service Campgrounds Reopening on Hatteras and Ocracoke Islands

Subscribe RSS Icon | What is RSS
Date: August 3, 2017
Contact: Boone Vandzura, 252-475-8307

Outer Banks Group Superintendent David Hallac is pleased to announce that Cape Point, Frisco, and Ocracoke Campgrounds will reopen at 12:00 pm on Friday, August 4, 2017. The three Cape Hatteras National Seashore (Seashore) campgrounds were temporarily closed after Dare County and Hyde County issued mandatory non-resident evacuation orders for Hatteras and Ocracoke islands in an effort to protect life safety during a period of lost and unreliable electrical service. Both counties have announced that visitors will have unrestricted access to Hatteras and Ocracoke islands starting at noon tomorrow.

Once all three campgrounds are reopened, it will mean that all Seashore facilities and visitor services have returned to normal operations. The Cape Hatteras Lighthouse, Visitor Centers, off-road vehicle permit offices, and other Seashore facilities on Hatteras and Ocracoke islands remained open to permanent residents and non-resident property owners while electrical service was being restored.

“Seashore staff look forward to welcoming back visitors and thank Cape Hatteras Electric Cooperative, Tideland Electric Membership Corporation, Dare County, Hyde County, North Carolina Department of Transportation, and contract crews, for their exceptional efforts to restore power and welcome back visitors,” said Superintendent Hallac.

Last updated: August 3, 2017

Contact the Park

Mailing Address:

Cape Hatteras National Seashore
1401 National Park Drive

Manteo, NC 27954


(252) 473-2111

Contact Us