Visit our keyboard shortcuts docs for details
Experience the living history of historic Slaven's Roadhouse on the Yukon River
Frank Slaven came north with the Klondike Gold Rush and established himself in Dawson, staking claims in the surrounding gold fields and making acquaintances with many of the Dawson businessmen and community leaders.
Learn more about Frank Slaven and the Roadhouses of the Yukon River
While many historic roadhouses have burned or have rotted away, Slaven’s Roadhouse has been restored and now serves as a public use cabin and landmark along the river between Eagle and Circle. From 1990 through 1996, the National Park Service restored Slaven's Roadhouse to its original 1938-42 condition.
Slaven's Roadhouse continues to serve the public as a landmark along the Yukon River. It is open to public access and frequently has people spending the night while traveling up and down the river.
Each February, it serves as a dog drop point during the Yukon Quest International Sled Dog Race. At times, the roadhouse also serves as quarters for volunteers working for the National Park Service.
Last updated: December 7, 2017