The National Park Service partners with federal agencies, state and local governments, organizations, tribes, and private individuals to administer the national historic trail.

The Trail of Tears Association is a major partner with the National Park Service. The association is a national organization dedicated to the preservation, public awareness, and appreciation of the Trail of Tears. Visit the association website at

Other major partners include the Cherokee Nation of Oklahoma and the Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians. To learn more, visit their websites at and at

There were several other American Indian tribes that were removed along with the Cherokee on the Trail of Tears. Members from these tribes are partners on the national historic trail. To learn more, visit the following websites:

Muscogee (Creek) Nation of Oklahoma at

Chickasaw Nation at

Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma at

Seminole Nation of Oklahoma at

Poarch Band of Creek Indians at

United Keetoowah Band of Cherokee Indians at


Last updated: May 24, 2018

Contact the Park

Mailing Address:

National Trails Intermountain Region
Trail of Tears National Historic Trail
PO Box 728

Santa Fe, NM 87504


(505) 988-6098

Contact Us