National Historic Landmarks Program

National Historic Landmarks (NHLs) are historic properties that illustrate the heritage of the United States. The over 2,600 NHLs found in the U.S. today come in many forms: historic buildings, sites, structures, objects, and districts. Each NHL represents an outstanding aspect of American history and culture.

The National Historic Landmarks Program uses the skills of National Park Service staff to guide the nomination process for new Landmarks. Working with citizens across the nation, the NHL Program also assists existing Landmarks.

On December 13, 2023, the Secretary of the Interior announced designation of sixteen new and six updated NHLs and approval of three withdrawals of NHL designation.

View of Alcatraz Island from the Pacific Ocean
Program Info

NHL Program Info & Research

View of Painted Desert Inn and horizon

Find National Historic Landmarks

front view of Iolani Palace

Become a National Historic Landmark

view of entrance to Hegeler Carus Mansion
Technical Assistance

Preserving Existing NHLs

NHL Bulletin: Guidelines for Preparing National Historic Landmark Nominations - NEW!
Program Updates

NHL Program Updates

foyer of Sewall Belmont House

Frequently Asked Questions

Last updated: July 12, 2024