Hurricane Hill Trail Improvements to Begin

Damaged pavement and off-trail impacts on Hurricane Hill Trail.
Damaged pavement and meadow on Hurricane Hill Trail.

NPS Photo

Subscribe RSS Icon | What is RSS
News Release Date: June 28, 2018

Contact: Penny Wagner, 360-565-3005

PORT ANGELES, WA:  Olympic National Park is set to begin a rehabilitation project on Hurricane Hill Trail, a popular hike at Hurricane Ridge. The project will start Monday, July 2 and be completed over the course of three summer seasons. The project includes construction of masonry retaining walls, drainage improvements, paving to 8 foot width, bench installation, revegetation, and improving the first four tenths of a mile of the trail to federal accessibility standards.

“This popular trail offers visitors breathtaking views of the Olympic Mountains and the Strait of Juan de Fuca but is badly in need of repair,” said park Superintendent Sarah Creachbaum. “Although the closures will inconvenience hikers, the result will be a more durable trail that increases accessibility and helps protect the meadows.”

Hurricane Hill Trail will be open on a rotating basis this summer when crews are not working. The Hurricane Hill Trail parking area will be closed to vehicles to accommodate the equipment and materials for the project. Parking and access to the trail for the duration of this year’s work will be via Picnic Area B and a short connecting trail to the Hurricane Hill parking area and trailhead.

The first trail closure will be Monday, July 2 through Tuesday, July 3. The trail will then be open for the July 4 holiday through Tuesday, July 10.

After July 10, a rotating schedule will be in place through the Labor Day holiday weekend. The trail will be closed for eight days while the crew is on duty and then open for six days while the crew is off duty.  During the closure periods, the trail will remain closed to access 24 hours a day for visitor and job site safety.
 
Trail Closed Trail Open
Mon, July 2 – Tues, July 3 Wed, July 4 – Tues, July 10
Wed, July 11 – Wed, July 18 Thurs, July 19 – Tues, July 24
Wed, July 25 – Wed, August 1 Thurs, August 2 – Tues, August 7
Wed, August 8 – Wed, August 15 Thurs, August 16 – Tues, August 21
Wed, August 22 – Wed, August 29   Thurs, August 30 – Tues, September 4

Trail work will continue through mid to late October depending on weather conditions. Trail status updates and September closure dates will be available on the park website at www.nps.gov/olym/planyourvisit/hurricane-hill-trail-project.htm.

Funding for the first two phases of the project is from the National Park Service Repair and Rehabilitation program. The trail work during these phases will be completed by park staff. The third phase is funded by park entrance fee revenue and will include the paving and revegetation portion of the project.

For current trail, road and travel information, visitors should consult the park website at www.nps.gov/olym and call the recorded Road and Weather Hotline at 360-565-3131.
 



Last updated: July 30, 2018

Contact the Park

Mailing Address:

600 E. Park Avenue
Port Angeles, WA 98362

Phone:

(360) 565-3130

Contact Us