Hurricane Hill Trail Project

Damaged pavement on Hurricane Hill Trail
Hurricane Hill Trail is too narrow for the amount of use it receives and is badly in need of repair.

NPS Photo

What does the project involve?

The project will be completed over the course of three summer seasons and includes the construction of masonry retaining walls, drainage improvements, paving to 8 foot width, bench installation, revegetation, and improving the first 4/10 of a mile of the trail to federal accessibility standards.

When is the trail open?

Hurricane Hill Trail will be open during periods when crews are not working. During the closure periods, the trail will remain closed to access 24 hours a day for visitor and job site safety.
Hurricane Hill Trail.

Trail Closed Trail Open
Wed., May 1 – Wed., May 8 Thurs., May 9 - Tues., May 14
Wed., May 15 - Wed., May 22 Thurs., May 23 – Tues., May 28
Wed., May 29 - Wed., June 5 Schedule to be determined




 
May 2019 calendar of trail work schedule

May 2019 Trail Status

 

Where should I park?

The Hurricane Hill Trail parking area will be closed to vehicles to accommodate the equipment and materials for the project. Parking and access to the trail for the duration of this year’s work will be via Picnic Area B and a short connecting trail to the Hurricane Hill parking area and trailhead.
 
Map of Hurricane Ridge Area
On days when the Hurricane Hill Trail is open, parking and access to the trailhead is via Picnic Area B and a short trail.
 

Where else can I hike at Hurricane Ridge?

Trails at Hurricane Ridge

Last updated: May 17, 2019

Contact the Park

Mailing Address:

600 E. Park Avenue
Port Angeles, WA 98362

Phone:

(360) 565-3130

Contact Us