• National Historic Landmarks Program


National Historic Landmarks Program


National Historic Landmarks (NHLs) are nationally significant historic places designated by the Secretary of the Interior because they possess exceptional value or quality in illustrating or interpreting the heritage of the United States. Today, just over 2,500 historic places bear this national distinction. Working with citizens throughout the nation, the National Historic Landmarks Program draws upon the expertise of National Park Service staff who guide the nomination process for new Landmarks and provide assistance to existing Landmarks.

Secretary Designates 24 New National Historic Landmarks

On January 11, Secretary of the Interior Sally Jewell announced the designation of 24 new National Historic Landmarks. Among them are the homes of civil rights activists Myrlie and Medgar Evers (Jackson, Mississippi) and Pauli Murray (Durham, North Carolina), the home of statesman and historian Jose Antonio Navarro (San Antonio, Texas), and one of the most important sites associated with the 1970s student protest movement, the May 4, 1970, Kent State Shootings Site (Ohio). Please visit the Spring 2016 and Fall 2016 NHL meeting pages for more information on the new designations.

Learn: NHL information and publications Find: Locate NHLs and NHL nominations Apply: Nominate a new Landmark News: Recent news and upcoming events Contact: Program offices, plus info for existing NHLs