Parks & Partners

Sagebrush in the foreground with the Pioneer Mountains in the distance
Sagebrush steppe with the Pioneer Mountains in the distance, Craters of the Moon National Monument and Preserve

NPS Photo

Upper Columbia Basin Network Parks

There are nine National Park Service units in UCBN, located in Idaho, Montana, Oregon, and Washington. These parks occupy portions of the Columbia Plateau and Snake River Plain geographic regions, where expanses of sagebrush-steppe are the predominant ecosystem type.

Many plants and animals that occur in UCBN parks are unique to the semi-arid habitats of the upper Columbia Basin, including the greater sage grouse, spotted bat, Columbia spotted frog, and hedgehog cactus. In addition, parks in the UCBN contain the only pinyon pine woodland in Idaho, and is one of the last strongholds of the Arctic grayling south of Canada.

Learn more about the work we're doing in our parks:

Last updated: June 12, 2018