Parks and Partners

Sunrise over the Fort George River at Timucuan Ecological and Historic Preserve
Sunrise over the Fort George River at Kingsley Plantation / Timucuan Ecological and Historic Preserve.

NPS photo/ Wendy Wright

The Southeast Coast Network contains twenty park units, fifteen of which contain significant and diverse natural resources. The Southeast Coast Network has implemented one or more long-term monitoring efforts at fifteen of these park units, which encompass more than 184,000 acres of federally-managed land across North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Alabama, and Florida. The network spans a wide range of historical, natural resource, and cultural missions, and includes:

Four national seashores

Two national historic sites

Two national memorials

Six national monuments

Two national battlefields

Two national historical parks

One national park

One national military park

One national recreation area

One ecological and historic preserve

The park units range in size from slightly more than 20 to nearly 60,000 acres, and, when considered with non-federal lands jointly managed with NPS, the Southeast Coast Network encompasses more than 253,000 acres (102,385 hectares).

Last updated: April 29, 2024