Then & Now
Architecture & Design
Designed by architect George Gleim, Jr., the present Maurice Bathhouse was built by William (Billy) Maurice to replace an existing Victorian-style building, the Independent Bathhouse, later renamed the Maurice Bathhouse after owner Charles Maurice (William’s father). The present building opened for business on January 1, 1912. With a total floor space of 23,000 square feet, the three-story bathhouse had ample room for a complete range of services and amenities, including a gymnasium, staterooms, a roof garden, twin elevators, and in the 1930s a therapeutic pool, situated in the basement. It was the only bathhouse on the Row to have a pool. The Maurice closed in November 1974.
The Maurice Bathhouse is vacant today and remains available for commercial leasing.
History & Culture
Learn more about Hot Spring National Park's unique cultural and natural history.
Learn about the natural resources at Hot Springs National Park. This includes information about our thermal water, wildlife, and plants.
Learn more about the People of Hot Springs National Park.
Last updated: October 2, 2020