Public Invited to Help Greater Yellowstone Coordinating Committee Chart a Path to the Future

Subscribe RSS Icon | What is RSS
Date: April 1, 2015
Contact: Virginia Kelly, 406-587-6704

Public Invited to Help Greater Yellowstone Coordinating Committee Chart a Path to the Future

Federal land managers within the Greater Yellowstone Ecosystem (GYE) are inviting the public to join them in a conversation on April 29 in Cody, Wyoming, to help them assess ecosystem issues and to build stronger relationships in the future.

The Greater Yellowstone Coordinating Committee (GYCC) is a group of eleven federal land managers who work together to coordinate management on more than 15 million acres of public land in Idaho, Montana and Wyoming.

Rather than hold a discussion about individual agency issues, managers are asking for input on cross-jurisdictional, ecosystem scale issues the GYCC can address. Specifically, the GYCC wishes to explore questions related to:
• Cross-agency land and resource management issues and opportunities;
• The GYCC’s GYE-level priorities;
• Future communication and collaboration with the public and stakeholder groups.

Individuals are encouraged to attend the morning orientation session from 8 a.m. to noon, during which each of the GYCC’s ten subcommittees will provide an overview of its activities. These Greater Yellowstone working groups coordinate on topics such as air quality, whitebark pine, wildlife and sustainable operations.

A conversation between the public and GYCC leadership follows in the afternoon from 1-5 p.m. The emphasis of the afternoon session will be on interaction and communication between all attendees, with participants discussing issues in small groups with agency leaders.

The meeting will be held on April 29 at the Holiday Inn in Cody. An agenda is available at

Similar sessions were held in 2014 in Jackson, Wyoming and Bozeman, Montana. Information gathered during these three sessions will help the GYCC develop and strengthen its working relationships with the public and stakeholders as they collaborate to address joint challenges managing these shared landscapes.

All are welcome. For more information please contact Virginia Kelly at e-mail us.


ABOUT THE GREATER YELLOWSTONE COORDINATING COMMITTEE: The Greater Yellowstone Coordinating Committee (GYCC) includes federal land managers from national parks, national forests, national wildlife refuges and Bureau of Land Management’s National System of Public Lands across the Greater Yellowstone Area (GYA): the largest, essentially intact natural area in the lower 48 states. Together, these agencies manage 15 million acres of federal land. The committee was formed to pursue opportunities of mutual cooperation and coordination in the management of core federal lands within the GYA. Participating federal land managers administer three national parks (Yellowstone, Grand Teton & John D. Rockefeller, Jr. Memorial Parkway), two national wildlife refuges (National Elk Refuge, Red Rock Lakes), five national forests (Bridger-Teton, Caribou-Targhee, Shoshone, Custer Gallatin, and Beaverhead-Deerlodge), and Bureau of Land Management – administered lands in Idaho, Montana and Wyoming. Information about the GYCC and links to member agency websites are available at:

Last updated: April 1, 2015

Contact the Park

Mailing Address:

P.O. Box 170
Moose, WY 83012


(307) 739-3399

Contact Us