Slave Hospital at Magnolia Outbuildings Complex Site,  Photo by NPS

The Cane River National Heritage Area Commission is a federal commission comprised of 19 members; it was designed to represent the numerous interests that intersect in the heritage area. Commissioners include representatives of various cultural and preservation interests within the national heritage area; representatives from city, parish, and state governments; landowners; representatives of tourism, business, education and recreational interests; and a representative from the National Park Service. The Cane River National Area's authorization has been extended until 2010.


Kathleen Byrd, Ph.D.
Northwestern State University of LA

Amanda Chenault
Cloutierville Citizen

Rufus Davis
Los Adaes/Robeline Area

Robert DeBlieux, Co-Chair
Natchitoches Historic Foundation

Terrel Delphin, Co-Chair
St. Augustine Historical Society

James Durham
Louisiana Sportsman Association

Sharon Gahagan
Natchitoches Historic District Comm

Laura Gates
National Park Service

Betty Jones
Governor's Appointee

Gloria Jones
Landowner (1)

Victor Jones
Landowner (2)

Randy LaCaze
Mayor's Appointee

Association for the Preservation of 
        Historic Natchitoches

Jason Stagg
Local Tourism and Business

John Vandersypen
Cane River Waterway Commission

Ed Ward
Black Heritage Committee

Will James
Natchitoches Parish Police Jury

Photo by NPS

Contact the Park

Mailing Address:

Cane River National Heritage Area, Inc
1115 Washington Street

Natchitoches, LA 71457


(318) 356-5555

Contact Us