Subscribe RSS Icon | What is RSS
Date: June 19, 2008
Contact: Outer Banks Group, (252) 473-2111

Superintendent Michael Murray announced today that Cape Hatteras National Seashore will comply with the temporary fire ban on all open burning in Hyde County and unincorporated areas of Dare County.

In conjunction with a local and NC issued State of Emergency, a prohibition of open burning has been issued by the NC Division of Forest Resources in Beaufort, Hyde, Tyrell, and Washington counties. Ocracoke Island is located in Hyde County. The ban on open burning is necessary because of the dry weather conditions and an increase in fire activity statewide. All beach ground fires are temporarily banned on Ocracoke Island beaches. Campground fires which are contained inside grills are permitted.

In addition, Dare County Fire Marshall’s Office is not issuing any burn permits for the unincorporated areas of Dare County until further notice. All beach ground fires are temporarily banned within the National Seashore on Hatteras Island and Bodie Island beaches. Small cooking fires in self contained units are permitted.

Visitors are asked to dispose of used smoking materials properly and away from any combustible materials. Caution should be exercised while cooking outdoors and lit materials should be confined to grill apparatus.

Additionally, visitors are reminded that fireworks are strictly prohibited in the National Seashore.


Last updated: April 14, 2015

Contact the Park

Mailing Address:

Cape Hatteras National Seashore
1401 National Park Drive

Manteo, NC 27954


(252) 473-2111

Contact Us