NPS Honors Outer Banks Group Volunteers for 2010 Service

Barbara Adams receives award
NPS Cape Hatteras National Seashore Volunteer Barbara Adams (right) accepts 4,000 Lifetime Hours Award from Superintendent Mike Murray (left) and Park Ranger Laura Michaels (middle).


Subscribe RSS Icon | What is RSS
News Release Date: November 9, 2010

Contact: Cyndy Holda, 252-473-2111  Ext. 148

National Park Service (NPS) staff recently celebrated and honored the many volunteer staff that provided invaluable assistance and displayed tremendous dedication during fiscal year 2010 to the Outer Banks Group of national parks; Cape Hatteras National Seashore, Wright Brothers National Memorial and Fort Raleigh National Historic Site.

The 161 volunteers donated a total of 16,046 volunteer hours which is an equivalent of almost eight year-round full time employees. Over 11,000 hours were donated to provide interpretive programs and staff visitor center information desks; 1,800 hours to host park campgrounds; 1,100 hours to strengthen the sea turtle program; 800 hours to provide care to the Ocracoke pony herd; and almost 700 hours to improve park grounds and facilities.


Park Superintendent Mike Murray stated, "I would like to extend a heartfelt thank you to each and every one of the volunteers for the incredible service they provided this year to the National Park Service. Every task accomplished made a difference and created a better place for park visitors to come and enjoy these cultural and natural treasures."

Several local volunteers received special recognition including: Barbara Adams, 4,000 Lifetime Hours Award (Cape Hatteras National Seashore), Fred Hattman, 3,000 Lifetime Hours Award (Wright Brothers National Memorial), Lynne Jacques, 2000 Lifetime Hours Award (Cape Hatteras National Seashore), and Fred Bamonte, 1000 Lifetime Hours Award (Cape Hatteras National Seashore).

Russ Cauff, Kim Emery, Peggy Koenig and Kara Koziar each received the 500 Lifetime Hours Award, Clint Betz received the 250 Lifetime Hours Award, and Kieran Bowman, Christopher Hadley, and Jim Lyons each received the 100 Lifetime Hours Award.

Kieran Bowman also received the Presidential Volunteer Service Youth Gold Award. Other youth awards were given to Shelby Dalton-Otto, Bonaire Berry, Jacob Dixon, Noah Dixon, Violet Krawchuk, and Lindsay Young, all of whom are youth volunteers at Cape Hatteras National Seashore.

Steve Jones was recognized as the Outer Banks Group volunteer with the most accumulated hours with 8,740 lifetime hours at Wright Brothers National Memorial.

Last updated: April 14, 2015

Contact the Park

Mailing Address:

Cape Hatteras National Seashore
1401 National Park Drive

Manteo, NC 27954


(252) 473-2111

Contact Us