Dunewood Campground

a carved large wooden sign with NPS arrowhead and woods Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore   Campground raised above plain background in front of spring trees
Dunewood Campground
  • Phone 219-395-1882


  • Regular season dates are the fourth Friday in April through third Sunday in October
    • 2015 Camping season opens on April 24, 2015
    • 2016 Camping season opens on April 22, 2016
A family getting a fire started at a camp site.

A family starts a campfire inside one of the provided grates.

  • 66 campsites; 53 conventional drive-in sites; 13 walk-in sites
  • Restrooms and showers
  • No electric hookups
  • Accessible to visitors with mobility impairments
  • Some sites are limited on recreational vehicle length


  • Automative fee machine only accepts MasterCard, Visa, or Discover Card. No cash or checks accepted. All sites are $18.00 per night. Fees are reduced 50% for holders of Senior Pass/Golden Age and Access Pass/Golden Access card holders. Reservations are not accepted.
  • Lake Michigan is located 1.5 miles north of the campground. Several beaches are within easy driving distance. A gas station/convenience store is located ¼ mile north of the campground at the intersection of U.S. Highway 12 and Broadway. A South Shore Railroad station, with passenger service to Chicago and South Bend, is located on Broadway, ¼ mile north of the campground.
The Porter County Convention, Recreation & Visitor Commission and LaPorte County Convention & Visitors Bureau, have lists of area campgrounds on their websites.
Family preparing breakfast at the Dunewood Campground

A family preparing breakfast at one one of the designated campsites.

Registration Information

  • Camping is on a first come, first served basis. No Reservations.
  • Register site as soon as you select it. Your registration slip along with your camping equipment shows others that this site is selected.
  • Display your registration receipt on the campsite marker post.
  • Renewals must be completed at 9:00 am. Failure to do so may result in you forfeiting your site.
  • Check-out is noon. New "check-ins" can not occupy your site until noon, unless the site is vacant.

Camping Information

• Stays are limited to 14 days in a 30-day period.

• Quiet hours are 10 p.m. to 6 a.m. Please be considerate of others.

• All tents and equipment must be on the camping pad.

• All vehicles/R.V. campers must remain completely on the pavement.

• Pets must be attended, caged, or on a leash of a maximum length of 6 feet.

• Campers MUST only use firewood purchased in the local area. A quarantine for the emerald ash borer restricts the transport of firewood to or from the county.

• Site limits are:


Max Unit Type

Max People

Max Vehicle

Mather sites (M) 1-34

(1 RV + 1 tent) or (2 tents)



Douglas sites (D) 35-54

(1 RV + 1 tent) or (2 tents)



Walk-in sites (W) 55-67

Tents Only (Maximum 2)



Prohibited Activities

• Possession/consumption of alcoholic beverages

• Driving over 15 MPH on campground roads

• Bicycles/vehicles off paved roads

• Wood gathering/cutting

• Campfires outside of provided grates

• Driving nails in trees

• Digging/leveling campsite

• Bathing/washing at water outlets

• Disturbing/hunting/capturing wildlife or plants

• Fireworks

Federal law has authorized recreational passes that can be used for a variety of discounts. Please see our Fees & Recreation page for more information.

Did You Know?