Confederate Units page 3

General Joseph E. Johnston

Right Wing: Maj. Gen. John B. Magruder

McLaws's Division: Brig. Gen. Lafayette McLaws

Semmes's Brigade: Brig. Gen. Paul J. Semmes

5th Louisiana 15th Virginia
10th Louisiana Noland's Virginia Battalion
10th Georgia 1st Louisiana Battalion (Dreux)
Garrett's Williamsburg (Virginia) Battery Young's Halifax (Virginia) Battery

Griffith's Brigade: Brig. Gen. Richard Griffith

13th Mississippi 1st Louisiana Zouave Battalion (Coppens)
18th Mississippi 21st Mississippi
McCarthy's Richmond Howitzers, 1st Co.

Kershaw's Brigade: Brig. Gen. Joseph B. Kershaw

2d South Carolina 7th South Carolina
3d South Carolina 8th South Carolina
Gracie's Alabama Battalion Kemper's Alexandria (Virginia) Battery

Cobb's Brigade: Brig. Gen. Howell Cobb

16th Georgia 2d Louisiana
24th Georgia 17th Mississippi
Cobb's Georgia Legion 15th North Carolina
Page's Morris Louisa (Virginia) Battery

Artillery: Col. H.C. Cabell

Cosnahan's Peninsula (Virginia) Battery Manly's North Carolina Battery
Sands's Henrico (Virginia) Battery Read's Pulaski (Georgia) Battery

D.R. Jones's Division: Brig. Gen. David R. Jones

Toombs's Brigade: Brig. Gen. Robert Toombs

1st Georgia Regulars 17th Georgia
2d Georgia 20th Georgia
15th Georgia

G.T. Anderson's Brigade: Col. George T. Anderson

7th Georgia 11th Georgia
8th Georgia 1st Kentucky
9th Georgia

Back / Next

Source: To The Gates of Richmond by Stephen Sears, 1992

Last updated: February 26, 2015

Park footer

Contact Info

Mailing Address:

Colonial National Historical Park - Yorktown Battlefield
P.O. Box 210

Yorktown, VA 23690


757 898-2410

Contact Us