Holiday Closures 2008

Subscribe RSS Icon | What is RSS
Date: December 16, 2008

     President Bush has issued an Executive Order declaring Friday, December 26, 2008, a Federal holiday.  All Departmental offices will be closed and employees excused from duty on Friday, December 26, 2008.  Sagamore Hill will be closed as well on Christmas Day, Thursday, December 25, and also because of the President’s Executive Order, Friday December 26.  The site will be open as usual on Saturday and Sunday, December 27 and 28.

     Next week the Site will be closed on Thursday, January 1 for New Year’s Day, but will be open as usual on Friday, January 2, Saturday and Sunday January 3 and 4.

Here is a summary of our holiday schedule:

Dec. 25, Thursday, Christmas Day    CLOSED

Dec. 26, Friday, Holiday by Executive Order    CLOSED

Dec.27, Saturday; Dec. 28, Sunday    OPEN

Dec. 29 and 30; closed Mondays and Tuesdays    CLOSED

Dec. 31, Wednesday    OPEN

Jan. 1, Thursday, New Year’s Day    CLOSED

Jan. 2. Friday    OPEN

Jan. 3. Saturday; Jan. 4, Sunday    OPEN

Jan. 5 and 6, closed Mondays and Tuesdays    CLOSED

     Note that while the buildings will be closed, the grounds are open for use year-round from dawn to dusk every day.   People are welcome to enjoy the park and Nature Trail.

     Sagamore Hill National Historic Site, located at 12 Sagamore Hill Road, Oyster Bay, New York, is a unit of the National Park Service.  The site was established by Congress in 1962 to preserve and interpret the structures, landscape, collections and other cultural resources associated with Theodore Roosevelt’s home in Oyster Bay, New York, to ensure that future generations understand and appreciate the life and legacy of Theodore Roosevelt, his family and the significant events associated with him.

     Sagamore Hill operates on its winter schedule at this time of year:  Open Wednesday through Sunday (closed Mondays and Tuesdays). Tours of the Roosevelt home are offered on the hour from 10 to 4 at a cost of $5 for adults; 15 and under free.  In addition, the Theodore Roosevelt Museum in the Old Orchard Building is open from 10-4 for the same weekly schedule noted above.

     During the holiday season we are often very busy with all tours of the day selling out before they actually occur so visitors are advised to come early in the day.



Last updated: February 26, 2015

Contact the Park

Mailing Address:

20 Sagamore Hill Road
Oyster Bay, NY 11771

Phone:

(516) 922-4788

Contact Us