The Old Stone House Marks Its 250th Anniversary

Subscribe RSS Icon | What is RSS
Date: March 10, 2015
Contact: Nate Adams, (202) 619-7158

The Old Stone House Marks Its 250thAnniversary

Washington – The Old Stone House in Georgetown turns 250 years old this month, and the National Park Service invites the public to explore this extraordinary historic site. The house is open daily and a special Women’s History Month program will be presented onSaturday, March 14 at 10 a.m.and again onSaturday, March 28 at 10 a.m.Join a park ranger for a tour of the house and a presentation on how women have influenced the historic structure and the community around it.

The Old Stone House remains the oldest structure on its original foundation in the nation’s capital. Dating to 1765, the Old Stone House has a remarkable history and is an excellent place to learn about the growth of Washington, D.C. Although few detailed records survive from the families who owned the Old Stone House, we can learn much about their lives from the architecture of the house and the personal possessions listed in wills and bills of sale. Among the owners of the house is Mrs. Cassandra Chew, a widow and self-sufficient woman who greatly expanded the house. Her daughter, Mary Smith Brumley was the first owner to open the house as a place of business. Tabitha, a slave of Mrs. Brumley’s, worked in the house and eventually bought freedom for herself and her child.

The Old Stone House is located at 3051 M Street NW in the Georgetown neighborhood of Washington, D.C. The site houses a bookstore, a picturesque English-style garden, and is open every day from11 a.m. to 6 p.m.


Last updated: April 10, 2015

Contact the Park

Mailing Address:

5200 Glover Rd, NW
Washington, DC 20015


(202) 895-6000
Rock Creek Park administrative offices can be reached at 202-895-6000. For general information call 202-895-6070 Wednesday - Sunday 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. and dial 0.

Contact Us