News Release

National Park Service and U.S. Navy prepare for upcoming National Pearl Harbor Remembrance Day Events

Subscribe RSS Icon | What is RSS
Date: December 1, 2021
Contact: Interpretive Team

HONOLULU – The National Park Service (NPS), Navy Region Hawaii, with the support of Pacific Historic Parks are hosting a series of events December 5 through December 9 as part of the 80th National Pearl Harbor Remembrance Day Commemoration to honor the 2,390 American lives lost during the attack on Pearl Harbor and the island of O`ahu on December 7, 1941.

The week’s long events are summarized below and more information may be found on-line at www.pearlharborevents.com and www.facebook.com/PearlHarborNPS

USS Nevada BB-36 Memorial Ceremony

  • Scheduled from December 5 2021 1 p.m. HST/ 3 p.m. PST/ 6 p.m. EST

  • Base access is required

  • Live-streamed at www.pearlharborevents.com

The USS Nevada, the oldest battleship on Battleship Row when the attack on Pearl Harbor occurred, managed to get underway during the attack, but was subsequently damaged and grounded herself near Hospital Point. Family and friends will gather at historic Hospital Point to honor the crew and the legacy of the USS Nevada.

USS UTAH SUNSET MEMORIAL CEREMONY

  • December  6 2021 5 p.m. HST/ 7 p.m. PST/ 10 p.m. EST 
  • Open to the Public, base access required
  • Live-streamed at www.pearlharborevents.com
The ceremony honors the loss of the USS Utah and 58 crewmen after the ship was torpedoed during the attack on Pearl Harbor. The USS Utah was the first ship torpedoed in the attack; it sank 12 minutes later.

80TH REMEMBRANCE CEREMONY

About 150 World War II Veterans, including approximately 40 Pearl Harbor survivors will be present at Kilo Pier for the Main Ceremony. 800 members of the public were awarded seats to view the live-stream at Pearl Harbor National Memorial’s Visitor Center in the National Park Service hosted Recreation.gov lottery. Please visit www.nps.gov/perl for additional information. This year’s ceremony -- “Valor, Sacrifice, and Peace” -- honors the sacrifices of those who died in the attack while paying tribute to the allies’ ultimate victory in WWII.7:45 a.m. HST Live-stream will start7:50 a.m. HST Ceremony will start and include remarks by National Park Service- Pearl Harbor National Memorial Superintendent Tom Leatherman, RADM Kott Navy Region Hawaii, and including keynote speaker, the Honorable Carlos Del Toro, Secretary of the Navy. The event will also feature the Pacific Fleet Band, a wreath presentation, and a fly over. 9:30 a.m. HST Approximate conclusion of ceremony and live-stream

USS OKLAHOMA: REINTERMENT OF THE UNKNOWNS

On December 7, 2021, The U.S. Navy, in partnership with the Department of Defense Pow/MIA Accounting Agency and the National Memorial Cemetery of the Pacific, will host the reinterment for the 33 remaining unknown sailors of the USS Oklahoma. Through the six-year effort of Project Oklahoma, 355 of 388 sailors and marines have been identified.

USS OKLAHOMA MEMORIAL CEREMONY

  • December 7 2021 2 p.m. HST/ 4 p.m. PST/ 7 p.m. EST
  • Open to the Public, Base Access Required
  • Will be live-streamed at www.pearlharborevents.com
World War II veterans, U.S. and allied service members, friends and family pay tribute to the 429 crewmembers of the USS Oklahoma killed Dec. 7, 1941, in the attack on Pearl Harbor, Hawaii, during a ceremony on Ford IslandThe casualties included 415 sailors and 14 Marines, who continued to fight even after the ship was struck by 8 torpedoes. A ninth torpedo hit the ship as it sank and had begun to capsize.

USS ARIZONA INTERMENT OF LT. HARVEY MILHORN

Pearl Harbor National Memorial in partnership with U.S. Navy Region Hawaii, will conduct the 45th interment of a USS Arizona Survivor. Lt. Harvey Milhorn was a GM3 on December 7 1941, and was blown off the back of the ship, swam to safety on Ford Island where he received medical care. He was eventually reassigned to the USS Tennessee and served on various ships throughout World War II. Mr. Milhorn retired from the U.S. Navy as a fully commissioned Lt. after a long and rewarding career. Mr. Milhorn passed away in 2002.

COMMISSIONING OF DDG 118

The U.S. Navy will commission DDG118 The USS Daniel Inouye in Pearl Harbor. The ship is named for the late Medal of Honor recipient and longtime Senator from Hawaii.

USS UTAH LIVE DIVE

  • Dec 09 2021 11 a.m. HST/ 1 p.m. PST / 4 p.m. EST
  • Will be live-streamed at www.facebook.com/PearlHarborNPS  and available on screens at the Pearl Harbor Visitor Center
Pearl Harbor National Memorial in partnership with the National Park Service – Submerged Resource Center, will conduct the first ever virtual interactive live-dive of the USS Utah, the only other ship that was left where she capsized on December 7 1941. Divers from the National Park Service will be supported and accompanied by U.S. Navy Region Hawaii – Mobile Diving and Salvage Unit One divers as viewers are able to virtually dive along the underwater remains of the USS Utah.

 



Last updated: June 30, 2022

Park footer

Contact Info

Mailing Address:

National Park Service
Pearl Harbor National Memorial
1 Arizona Memorial Place

Honolulu , HI 96818

Phone:

808 422-3399

Contact Us

Tools

Stay Connected