Federal law allows people who can legally possess firearms under applicable federal, state, and local laws to legally possess firearms in the park. However, firearms are never permitted in government owned buildings. It is the responsibility of visitors to understand and comply with all applicable local, state, and federal firearm laws before entering this park. Please see Illinois Criminal Code 720 ILC Section 24-1. Illinois does not recognize any other state's concealed weapons permit.
A parking fee of $2.00 per hour is required to park within the Lincoln Home National Historic Site visitor parking lot. Payment is made at a self-serve kiosk at the north end of the parking lot, between the lot and the visitor center. Please print out your parking permit and place in the dashboard of your vehicle before continuing your visit. Failure to pay may result in issuance of an $80 federal violation notice. (Pursuant to 36 CFR 2.23(b) Recreation Fees)
Some activities require a permit, for which there may be a fee. These include commercial filming/video, still photography, certain kinds of gatherings, sale or distribution of printed matter, scattering of human ashes, and any other special park uses that might interfere with normal visitor activities. Please contact the Law Enforcement Ranger office for further information: (217) 391-3256, or make a request in writing to the Superintendent.
·Visitors may not bring food or drinks into the Lincoln Home or Visitor Center.
·Visitors are not allowed to lean against the walls and door frames inside the home.
·No large bags are allowed in the home (and cannot be left unattended at the Visitor Center). Any purses or backpacks must be carried in front of the visitor to prevent damage to the walls and door frames.
·Photographs (including flash photos) are allowed inside the home.
Launching, landing, or operating an unmanned aircraft (UAV or Drone) from or on lands administered by the National Park Service within the boundaries of the Lincoln Home National Historic Site is prohibited except as approved in writing by the Superintendent. (Pursuant to 36 CFR 1.5(a)(1)(h) Superintendent's Orders, Closures and Public Use Limits)