Place

Sea Hunter III

The Sea Hunter III, a white ferry, docked along a large wooden dock. Lightly clouded sky above.
The Sea Hunter III makes day trips to Windigo.

NPS / Katie Keller

Quick Facts

Dock/Pier, Ferry - Passenger, Information, Parking - Auto, Restroom, Scenic View/Photo Spot, Toilet - Flush

The Sea Hunter III is a 65' foot twin diesel vessel that provides passenger service to Isle Royale National Park. It operates between Grand Portage, MN and Windigo, MI on the southwest end of the island. There is no car ferry service. Day-trip and overnight visits are offered. The Sea Hunter III runs on central time, whereas Isle Royale National Park is on eastern time; it is recommended to stay on central time during your trip.

Sea Hunter III Schedule

Throughout the operating season the Sea Hunter III's schedule varies; it typically operates from mid-June through Labor Day.

The Sea Hunter III departs Grand Portage, MN at 8:30 am CDT / 9:30 am EDT and arrives at Windigo at 10:00 am CDT / 11:00 am EDT. Visitors on the day-trip have four hours to explore the west end of the park. The Sea Hunter III then departs Windigo at 2:00 pm CDT / 3:00 pm EDT and arrives at Grand Portage, MN at 3:30 pm CDT / 4:30 pm EDT.

For additional schedule, fare information, or to make a reservation, please visit the Sea Hunter III website.

Last updated: May 10, 2021