Parks & Partners

The Greater Yellowstone Network represents four national park units in Wyoming, Montana, and Idaho. It spans two important ecoregions: the Bighorn River Basin and the Greater Yellowstone Ecosystem. Both are rich with geologic and biological diversity. The Greater Yellowstone Ecosystem is known worldwide. It is one of the largest, relatively intact natural areas in the contiguous United States. The diverse ecosystems that occur in these parks include

  • alpine tundra
  • sagebrush steppe shrubland
  • headwaters of the Yellowstone, Snake, and Shoshone rivers
  • wetlands
  • geothermal areas
  • lakes
  • juniper-mountain mahogany woodland
  • high-elevation forests


Photo credits: Image for John D. Rockefeller Jr. Memorial Parkway by NPS/Danielle Lehle. Image for Bighorn Canyon National Recreation Area by NPS/Victoria Stauffenberg.

Last updated: March 22, 2024