Plan Your Visit

Hampton National Historic Site presreves the core of what was once a vast 25,000 acre estate owned by the Ridgely family from 1790 - 1948. A family of great prosperity, the Ridgelys amassed a large fortune in the eighteenth century through the success of the family-owned Northampton ironworks. The family business and estate was supported by the labor of enslaved African Americans, European indentured servants, and paid laborers. In 1783, Captain Charles Ridgely, the first owner of the estate, began construction on the Hampton mansion which boasted a late-Georgian architectural style and the finest luxuries of the time including scenic gardens. Centuries latier, in 1948, the site was preserved by the National Park Service based on the architectural significance of the mansion. In 1980 the Lower Farm, including original slave quarters and farm house, was added to the site. Today there are 63 acres to explore.

Guided tours of the historic mansion are offered Thursday-Sunday. Tours typically run 45-60 minutes. More information on tour times and availability can be found here. Reservations are not required to tour the mansion but groups of ten or more should call ahead to arrange a visit.

Seasonally we offer special programs and events. Check our calendar for more information.

The park grounds are open daily for enjoyment. Hampton NHS is home several state champion trees, a falling garden, dozens of historic structures, and various birds and other wildlife.

Be sure to follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram for the latest updates, including park closures and changes in events.

Last updated: April 15, 2018

Contact the Park

Mailing Address:

535 Hampton Lane
Towson, MD 21286

Phone:

410.823.1309

Contact Us