Archive: Desert View Cultural Demonstration Schedule 2022

This Page Is For Reference Only


Find below the 2022 past schedule for the Desert View Cultural Demonstration Series.
 

June 2022

Demonstrations take place between 9 am and 4 pm at Desert View. Demonstration locations vary, so check with the outdoor Visitor Center, just beyond the north end of the main parking lot. Schedule is subject to change without notice.

Thursday and Friday, June 2, and 3, 2022
Duran Gasper - Zuni Inlay Jewelry
Jimmy Yawakia - Zuni Fetish Carver

Thursday and Friday, June 9, and 10, 2022
Gerald Lomaventema - Hopi Overlay Jewelry
Jerrel Singer - Navajo Painter

Thursday, Friday and Saturday, June 16, 17, and 18, 2022
Beverly Blacksheep - Navajo Artist and Illustrator
Florence Riggs - Navajo Weaver

Thursday and Friday, June 23, and 24, 2022
Darance Chimerica - Hopi Kachina carver
Gerard Begay, Navajo weaver.

Thursday and Friday, June 30, and July 1, 2022
Bill Thomas, Jr - Navajo Moccasin Maker
Damon Tso - Navajo Potter

 

July 2022

Demonstrations take place between 9 am and 4 pm at Desert View. Demonstration locations vary, so check with the outdoor Visitor Center, just beyond the north end of the main parking lot. Schedule is subject to change without notice.


Thursday and Friday, July 7, and 8, 2022
Rose Bighorse - Navajo Weaver
Henry Nez - Navajo Silversmith

Thursday and Friday, July 14, and 15, 2022
Gwen Setalla - Hopi silversmith
Phyllis Coonsis - Zuni Cluster Jewelry

Thursday and Friday, July 21, and 22, 2022
Aprilene Unkestine - Zuni Silversmith
Enrike Leeka - Zuni Fetish Carver

Thursday and Friday, July 28 and 29, 2022
Jonah Hill - Hopi Silversmith
Jerry Whagado - Yavapai-Apache Silversmith
Lionel Honwytewa - Hopi and Yavapai-Apache Katsina carving and mix media drawings.
 

August 2022

Demonstrations take place between 9 am and 4 pm at Desert View. Demonstration locations vary, so check with the outdoor Visitor Center, just beyond the north end of the main parking lot. Schedule is subject to change without notice.

Thursday and Friday, August 4, and 5, 2022
Greg Hill - Hopi Toymaker
Darin Seweyestewa - Hopi Silversmith
Kevin Horace Quannie - Hopi Painter and Kachina Carver

Thursday and Friday, August 11, and 12, 2022
Duane Tawahongva - Hopi Silversmith
Kelynea Yazzie - Navajo Weaver

Thursday and Friday, August 18, and 19, 2022
Sage Goldtooth - Navajo Silversmith
Arielle Tsinigine - Navajo Beadworker

Thursday and Friday, August 25, and August 26, 2022
Laverine Greyeyes - Navajo Weaver
Louise Nez - Navajo Weaver

 

September 2022

Demonstrations take place between 9 am and 4 pm at Desert View. Demonstration locations vary, so check with the outdoor Visitor Center, just beyond the north end of the main parking lot. Schedule is subject to change without notice.

Thursday and Friday, September 1, and 2, 2022
Bennard Dallasvuyaoma - Hopi Jeweler
Frances Dallasvuyaoma - Hopi Jeweler

Thursday and Friday, September 8, and 9, 2022
Jerilynn Yazzie - Navajo Silversmith and Beader
Kyle Yazzie - Navajo Painter

Thursday and Friday, September 15, and 16, 2022
Delwyn Tawvaya - Hopi Overlay Jeweler

Thursday and Friday, September 22, and 23, 2022
Gloria Chee - Navajo Carver and Beader
Leo Chee - Navajo Carver and Silversmith

Thursday and Friday, September 29, and 30, 2022
Eldrick Seoutewa - Zuni Petit Point Jeweler
Charlotte Seoutewa - Zuni Channel Inlay Jeweler

 

October 2022

Demonstrations take place between 9 am and 4 pm at Desert View. Demonstration locations vary, so check with the outdoor Visitor Center, just beyond the north end of the main parking lot. Schedule is subject to change without notice.

Thursday and Friday, October 6, and 7, 2022
Jeff Shetima - Zuni Stone Carver
Cory Ahownewa - Hopi Katsina Carver

Thursday and Friday, October 13, and 14, 2022
Darren Seweyestewa - Hopi Silversmith/Jeweler
Evanette (Eva) Sockyma - Hopi Basket Weaver

Thursday and Friday, October 20, and 21, 2022
Darance Chimerica - Hopi Katsina Carver
Ed Kabotie - Hopi Musician/Artist

Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, October 25, 26, and 27, 2022
Henry Jackson - Navajo Jeweler
Maryetta Jackson - Navajo Jeweler

 

November 2022

Demonstrations take place between 9 am and 4 pm at Desert View Watchtower. Schedule is subject to change without notice.

Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, November 1, 2, and 3, 2022
Ariell Tsinignie - Navajo Beader

Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, November 8, 9, and 10, 2022
Carol Hatathlie - Navajo Gold and Silversmith
McHale Alcott - Navajo silversmith/Jeweler

Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, November 15, 16, and 17, 2022
Jayne Quam - Zuni stone carver
Lynn Quam - Zuni stone carver

CHANGE: Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, November 23, 24, and 25, 2022
Weaver Selina - Hopi Silversmith
Alberta Selina - Hopi Basket Weaver

Last updated: January 3, 2023

Park footer

Contact Info

Mailing Address:

PO Box 129
Grand Canyon , AZ 86023

Phone:

928-638-7888

Contact Us

Stay Connected