On September 17, 1901, the First Steam-Powered Train, a spur line of the Santa Fe Railway, arrived to the South Rim of the Grand Canyon. With the arrival of the train, the quiet area of the South Rim rapidly expanded into the bustling Grand Canyon Village. The first decade of the Santa Fe Railway’s arrival saw the construction of the luxurious, El Tovar, and shops, such as Hopi House and Verkamp’s Curios (today’s Verkamp’s Visitor Center). Over the next three decades, the Grand Canyon Village expanded to accommodate its growing visitation. Today visitors can take a step back in time and wander through this historically preserved village dating back to the early 1900s.
Explore A Park Map
Explore all the sites that make up Grand Canyon's Historic Village on the interactive map below. To learn more information about a site click on the images below the map or a number on the map. Zoom in to see a site or area more clearly.
The Grand Canyon Railway Depot History
The Grand Canyon Railway Depot is one of the oldest standing wooden train depots in the United States.
El Tovar History
The El Tovar was the most luxurious hotel west of the Mississippi River when it opened in 1905.
Bright Angel Lodge History
The Fred Harvey Company built the Bright Angel Lodge on the former site of the Bright Angel Hotel and Camp established by James Thurber.
Buckey O'Neill Cabin History
The Buckey O'Neill Cabin is considered the oldest continuously standing structure on the South Rim.
Lookout Studio History
Inspired by the natural landscape around her, Mary Colter modeled this building after southwestern Native American architectural styles.
Kolb Studio History
The Kolb Brothers, best known for their death defying photographs, built a home and studio on the edge of the South Rim in 1904.
Last updated: September 12, 2019