|Subscribe | What is RSS|
Contact: William Sawyer, 315-338-7730
On Saturday, May 17, join the Backyard Rangers and go back in time to 1758 when Fort Stanwix was built by the British to defend the Oneida Carry against the French.Children ages 5-12 and their families are invited to discover the often unmentioned role of Fort Stanwix in the French and Indian War.
This month, Backyard Rangers will build a "food fort" to take home, make an 18th century British flag, and discover which soldiers fought over the Oneida Carry in the 1750s. The program will run from 10 to 11:30 am and 1:30 to 3 pm in the park's Marinus Willett Center.
You can join the Backyard Rangers every third Saturday of the month, there is no cost, and no reservations are necessary. The next Backyard Rangers will meet on June 21, 2014. For more information about this and other programs, please call 315-338-7730 and ask to speak with a ranger.
Fort Stanwix National Monument is open seven days a week from 9 am to 5 pm. Admission to the park is free. For more information about upcoming events please call the park at (315) 338-7730. Please visit the park's web page at www.nps.gov/fost for additional information about the park and up-to-date news about park events.