African American Heritage & Ethnography Introduction: Learning Resources Center—Links


Heritage Preservation

  1. Learn more about informal heritage preservation by community groups

  2. Learn more about studies conducted to evaluate areas for potential inclusion in the National Park System

  3. Learn more about the National Register of Historic Places

    • The National Register of Historic Places is the Nation's official list of cultural resources worthy of preservation. Authorized under the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Register is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect our historic and archeological resources. Properties listed in the Register include districts, sites, buildings, structures, and objects that are significant in American history, architecture, archeology, engineering, and culture.
  4. For information on how to nominate a property to the National Register, visit the Listing a property page.

  5. Locate the State and Tribal Historic Preservation Offices in your state

  6. Learn more about how local governments strengthen their local historic preservation efforts by achieving Certified Local Government status from the National Park Service

  7. Learn more about Heritage Preservation Services

    • The Heritage Preservation Services provides a broad range of products and services, financial assistance and incentives, educational guidance, and technical information in support of this mission. Its diverse partners include State Historic Preservation Offices, local governments, tribes, federal agencies, colleges, and non-profit organizations.
  8. Learn more about Section 106 and how it is implemented

  9. Learn about the characteristics of successful consultation according to tribal people

  10. Learn more about special resource studies and the involvement of community as well as the role of anthropologist/ethnographers the Fort King Special Resource Study, especially Chapter 6

  11. Learn more about the Native American Graves Protection and Repatriation Act Program.

  12. Visit the National Underground Railroad Network to Freedom

  13. Visit the National Underground Railroad Freedom Center