Sunday Feb. 4, 2024 the 3:00 and 4:00 tours are cancelled due to a staffing emergency.
Clara Barton National Historic Site is open for public visitation Fridays, Saturdays, and Sundays by guided tours of the first floor at 1:00 pm, 2:00 pm, 3:00 pm, and 4:00 pm
The 30-45 minute program will explore the many stories of Clara Barton's amazing life as well as some of the other individuals who lived and served in this unique home.
The house remains unfurnished and the second and third floors of the building remain closed due to structural concerns.
Clara Barton lived in this home from 1897 until her death in 1912. It served as a home, headquarters and warehouse to the organization she founded, the American Red Cross.
Entrance is free.
Virtual Presentations about Clara Barton National Historic Site
National Park Rangers at Clara Barton National Historic Site are now offering free virtual programs to groups of 10 or more. Please contact Park Ranger Kevin Patti at firstname.lastname@example.org or 301-320-1410 to book a program.
Join us as we commemorate the life and work of Clara Barton, heroine of the Civil War and founder of the American Red Cross. Clara Barton broke through the barriers that so often confined women of the nineteenth century to the domestic sphere and had a long career of public service that touched people all over the world. She was an advocate for the expansion of rights for African Americans and women, a pioneer of public education, and the inventor of the first aid kit. She was also one of the first women to work for the federal government. This illustrated talk by a park ranger at Clara Barton National Historic Site in Glen Echo, Md will use photographs from Clara Barton’s life and times to describe her service and the struggles she overcame along the way.
Are you looking for "primary source" documents or photographs of Clara Barton? We have some resources in this web site which you may find helpful.
The Historic Furnishing Plan was developed by the National Park Service/Harpers Ferry Center in 1983. It serves as the guiding document for the restoration and furnishings of the rooms at Clara Barton National Historic Site.
Last updated: February 3, 2024