|Subscribe | What is RSS|
Contact: Ben Helwig, 301-582-0813
Sharpsburg, MD – The Chesapeake & Ohio Canal National Historical Park (C&O Canal NHP) announces the weekend opening of the Ferry Hill Plantation House (Ferry Hill Place), located in Sharpsburg, Maryland. On Fridays, Saturdays, and Sundays from10:00am to 3:00pm, Ferry Hill Place welcomes visitors, free of charge, to catch a glimpse into Civil War and C&O Canal History. The exhibit center at Ferry Hill Place will be open every summer weekend throughSunday, August 31, 2014.
Ferry Hill Place is the former home of Henry Kyd Douglas, the youngest officer under the command of General Thomas "Stonewall" Jackson during the Civil War, as well as author ofI Rode with Stonewall.Ferry Hill is a 19th century plantation house that sits above the C&O Canal while overlooking the scenic Potomac River and historic Shepherdstown, West Virginia.
"Ferry Hill Place offers a unique take on the C&O Canal experience, as exhibits within the Visitor Center focus on the Civil War, local farming, as well as local commerce," Ben Helwig, C&O Canal Supervisory Park Ranger said. "All of these elements show how the Chesapeake & Ohio Canal played an important role in American History during the time of its operation."
In 2012, the main living space of Ferry Hill Place was refurbished to reflect the original character of the home, while still maintaining its artful and handcrafted plantation style. Today, Ferry Hill Place's updated exhibits include stories from the C&O Canal, recollections of local commerce, hand-on activities for children, and the historic architecture of Ferry Hill Place.
C&O Canal NHP stretches 184.5 mile from Georgetown to Cumberland, MD. The C&O Canal was constructed over 22 years and operated from 1850-1924 as a water route for hauling coal, lumber, and other goods. The C&O Canal became a National Monument in 1961, thanks in part to the efforts of concerned citizens who sought to preserve the canal environment, and in 1971 the C&O Canal became a National Historical Park. Today, the entire 184.5 mile long towpath is open to visitors.
For more information on Ferry Hill Place, please contact the C&O Canal Williamsport Visitor Center at 301-582-0813.