History & Culture

This area's human history reaches back thousands of years. The Southern Paiute called Cedar Breaks “u-map-wich”, or “the place where the rocks are sliding down all the time.” Ungkaw Pekonump is another Paiute name that translates into red-cove. Settlers later called it “Cedar Breaks,” by misidentifying the area’s juniper trees as cedars. “Breaks,” is a geographic term to describe a sharp/abrupt change or “break” in topography.

The lands which today comprise Cedar Breaks National Monument were included within the boundaries of Sevier National Forest in 1909, and subsequently incorporated into the Dixie National Forest. Management responsibility transferred from the Department of Agriculture to the Department of Interior on August 22, 1933, when President Franklin D. Roosevelt proclaimed Cedar Breaks a national monument.

 
Close up of older native american man with ceremonial dress & orange cliffs in the background.

People

Learn more about the many people who have called Cedar Breaks home.

Old photo of the historic Cedar Breaks Lodge.

Historic Places

Learn about the historic places in and near Cedar Breaks.

Black and white photo of a man on horseback, looking out at a rocky landscape.

Stories

Discover the hidden stories of Cedar Breaks.

Old color slide image of Cedar Breaks cliffs - hand painted in pink and orange.

Collections

Check out historic photos, documents and objects from Cedar Breaks National Monument!

Last updated: November 8, 2018

Contact the Park

Mailing Address:

Cedar Breaks National Monument: Administrative Office
2390 West Highway 56
Suite #11

Cedar City, UT 84720

Phone:

(435) 586-9451 x4420

Contact Us

Tools