Trail Advisory Council Appointed

Subscribe RSS Icon | What is RSS
Date: March 31, 2011
Contact: Cindy Chance, 410-260-2492

The National Park Service Chesapeake Bay Office announced the appointment of 25 members to the Captain John Smith Chesapeake National Historic Trail Advisory Council. Members of the Council, appointed by U.S. Secretary of the Interior Ken Salazar, will consult with the Secretary and the National Park Service on matters related to the trail, including trail management, public access, recreation opportunities, and indigenous cultural landscapes along the trail route. The Advisory Council was established in 2008 and is authorized through 2018.

John J. Reynolds, member of the Board of Directors of the Student Conservation Association and former Deputy Director of the National Park Service, will serve as chair of the Council. Members will serve two year terms. As per the Council charter, the states of Delaware, Maryland, and Virginia are represented as are the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, the Environmental Protection Agency, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, and Department of Defense. Other members represent a range of governmental and non-governmental organizations and American Indian representatives and include trail Superintendent John Maounis.

"The people appointed to serve on the Advisory Council will contribute in many ways to the development of a rich educational and recreational trail experience for the public," said John Reynolds, Advisory Council chair. "Now that the trail's management plan is in place, we are anxious to help further trail developments segment by segment." John Maounis, trail Superintendent, said that "The trail Council will be a forum for collaboration and innovation as together we bring the trail alive."

Members of the Council are as follows:

Suzanne Baird, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service

Deanna Beacham, Virginia Council on Indians

Hedrick Belin, Potomac Conservancy

Virginia Busby, Maryland Commission on Indian Affairs

Wilton Corkern, Accokeek Foundation

Bill Daisey, Nanticoke Indian Association

Jim Edward, Environmental Protection Agency

John Griffin, Maryland Department of Natural Resources

Elizabeth Hughes, Maryland Historic Trust

E.B. James, Nanticoke Watershed Alliance

David Johnson, Virginia Department of Conservation and Recreation

Kathleen Kilpatrick, Virginia Department of Historic Resources

Mary Ann Lisanti, Lower Susquehanna Heritage Greenway

John Maounis, National Park Service

Drew McMullen, Sultana Projects, Inc.

Susan Moerschel, Delaware Division of Parks and Recreation

Kim Nielsen, Department of Defense

Pat Noonan, The Conservation Fund

Richard Pearsall, Onancock Historic District

Bill Pencek, Maryland Office of Tourism Development

John Reynolds, Student Conservation Association

Peyton Robertson, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Charlie Stek, Chesapeake Conservancy

Bill Street, James River Association

Ann Swanson, Chesapeake Bay Commission

The Captain John Smith Chesapeake National Historic Trail, extending approximately 3,000 miles on the Bay and tributaries, follows the routes of John Smith's exploratory voyages in 1607-1609 and offers trail visitors recreational and educational experiences on land portions as well as on the water. Primary interpretive themes center on 17th century American Indian societies and cultures and the natural and cultural resources of the Bay.

For more information about the trail, visit


Last updated: December 10, 2015

Contact the Park

Mailing Address:

P.O. Box 210
Yorktown, VA 23690


(757) 898-3400

Contact Us