Mississippi and the 19th Amendment

Mississippi state
State of Mississippi colored gray, indicating it was not one of the initial 36 states to ratify the 19th Amendment. CC0

Women fought for the right to vote since the mid-1800s. They marched, protested, lobbied, and even went to jail. By the 1870s, women pressured Congress to vote on an amendment that would give them suffrage rights. This amendment became known as the 19th Amendment.

After decades of arguments for and against women's suffrage, Congress finally voted in favor of the 19th Amendment in 1919. This is called ratification. After Congress ratified the 19th Amendment, at least 36 states needed to vote in favor of it for it to become law.

On March 29, 1920 Mississippi voted against ratifying the 19th Amendment. By August of 1920, 36 states ratified the 19th Amendment, giving women the right to vote -- including women in Mississippi.

Mississippi state flag
Mississppi state flag. CC0
Mississippi finally ratified the 19th Amendment on March 22, 1984.

Last updated: August 6, 2018