Massachusetts and the 19th Amendment

Massachusetts overlaid with the purple, white, and gold suffrage flag
State outline of Massachusetts, overlain with the purple, white, and gold suffrage flag indicating it was one of the original 36 states to ratify the 19th Amendment.


Women fought for the right to vote since the mid-1800s. They marched, protested, lobbied, and even went to jail. By the 1870s, women pressured Congress to vote on an amendment that would give them suffrage rights. This amendment became known as the 19th Amendment.

After decades of arguments for and against women's suffrage, Congress finally voted in favor of the 19th Amendment in 1919. This is called ratification. After Congress ratified the 19th Amendment, at least 36 states needed to vote in favor of it for it to become law.

State flag of Massachusetts
State flag of Massachusetts. CC0
On June 25, 1919, Massachusetts voted in favor of the Nineteenth Amendment. By August of 1920, 36 states (including Massachusetts) ratified the amendment, giving women the right to vote.

Last updated: August 6, 2018